Top paratriathletes take to Kitzbuehel

by Erin Greene on 20 Jun, 2014 02:57 • Español

The stunning Austrian city of Kitzbühel will play host to the 2014 European Paratriathlon Championships this weekend. With such a competitive field of paratriathletes hailing from European countries, the races on Saturday are expected to be some of the most competitive this season.

Lauren Steadman (GBR) and Faye Mcclelland (GBR) will battle it out again after an upset in London three weeks ago in which Steadman beat out the 4-time World Champion Mcclelland for gold. Steadman’s win ended Mcclelland’s undefeated streak. Steadman dominated the swim and continued strong on the bike and run to reach the top of the podium.

Her strong swim comes as no surprise to those who know her as a two-time Paralympic swimmer. This weekend, Steadman has the added advantage of heading into the race as the reigning European Champ, so will strive to retain her title.

In the men’s PT1 division, 2013 European Champion Phil Hogg will compete again for first place against fellow countryman and 2013 European bronze medalist Joe Townsend. The pair went head to head in London last month, finishing 2nd and 4th, respectively. Expect to see these two paratriathletes push each other to the top of their division yet again.

The 2013 European champions will be ones to keep an eye on. Martin Schulz (GER), rival Yannick Bourseaux (FRA), and the young buck Jairo Ruiz Lopez (ESP) will meet again after finishing 1-2-3 in Besancon. While Schulz won the European championship in 2013 and has had a strong start to the season with a big win in Besancon, both Bourseaux and Ruiz Lopez will put up a tough fight to stand tallest on the podium this year.

In the women’s PT1 division, three-time World Champion and four-time European Champion Jane Egan (GBR) will have the chance to race for her fifth consecutive European crown. However, this year she will have fellow Brit Karen Darke, who sat out the 2013 season, to compete against alongside recent Besancon winner Rita Cuccuru (ITA).

Michele Ferrarin (ITA) has continued to fair well after claiming the men’s World TRI-3 and European TRI-3 titles last year, as well as collecting a win in London in the PT2 division this season. Look for Frenchman Geoffrey Wersy to put up a good fight in the PT2 division after placing second next to Ferrarin in London.

The 2014 ETU European Paratriathlon Championships will be held on June 21, with athletes going off on Saturday at 8:00am local time.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2014 Kitzbühel ETU Triathlon European Championships
20 - 22 Jun, 2014 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:54:08
2. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:54:35
3. Vicente Hernandez ESP 01:54:39
4. Fernando Alarza ESP 01:54:54
5. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:55:07
6. David Mcnamee GBR 01:55:17
7. Alessandro Fabian ITA 01:55:25
8. Ivan Tutukin RUS 01:55:36
9. Justus Nieschlag GER 01:55:45
10. Matthew Sharp GBR 01:55:48
Results: Elite Women
1. Nicola Spirig SUI 02:10:24
2. Sophia Saller GER 02:10:40
3. Annamaria Mazzetti ITA 02:10:58
4. Hanna Philippin GER 02:11:16
5. Lois Rosindale GBR 02:11:35
6. Rachel Klamer NED 02:11:47
7. Charlotte Bonin ITA 02:11:53
8. Elena Danilova RUS 02:11:54
9. Sara Vilic AUT 02:11:57
10. Mateja Šimic SLO 02:12:00
Results: Junior Men
1. Raphael Montoya FRA 00:57:43
2. Antonio Serrat Seoane ESP 00:57:47
3. Maxime Hueber-Moosbrugger FRA 00:57:53
4. Lasse Lührs GER 00:58:16
5. Bence Bicsák HUN 00:58:22
6. Jorik Van Egdom NED 00:58:24
7. Léo Bergere FRA 00:58:28
8. Lucas Jacolin FRA 00:58:30
9. Jonathan Wayaffe BEL 00:58:33
10. Ron Lewinsohn ISR 00:58:35
Results: Junior Women
1. Laura Lindemann GER 01:03:14
2. Audrey Merle FRA 01:03:19
3. Cassandre Beaugrand FRA 01:03:29
4. Ditte Kristensen DEN 01:04:22
5. Carmen Gomez Cortes ESP 01:04:42
6. Sophie Coldwell GBR 01:04:54
7. Angelica Olmo ITA 01:05:11
8. Therese Feuersinger AUT 01:05:23
9. Flóra Bicsák HUN 01:05:54
10. Lena Meißner GER 01:06:04
Related articles
  • European heavyweights to clash in Kitzbühel
    Reigning Olympic Champions Alistair Brownlee (GBR) and }Nicola Spirig (SUI) will race and are amongst one of the strongest lineups at a European Championships event in years.
    02:52 - 20 Jun, 2014
Tracker Pixel for Entry