Mola Upsets Brownlee Double at 2009 ITU Triathlon Junior World Championships

by Peter Holmes on 13 Sep, 2009 05:17 • Español

video placeholder Your video is loading. If the video fails to load please upgrade your Flash player

Mario Mola from Spain surged past Jonathan Brownlee late on to deny the Brownlee brothers a historic double following Alistair Brownlee’s senior men’s win at the Dextro Energy Triathlon – ITU World Championships.

Crossing the line in 54:35, the Spaniard accelerated on the final run lap to take victory, reminiscent of Alistair Brownlee’s deciding move against Spain’s Javier Gomez in yesterday’s elite competition. Jonathan Brownlee was strong enough to hold on to second despite the fast running of Hungary’s Kristof Kiralyhun.

With a large pack of thirty coming together on the bike, title favourite Brownlee was forced to work hard to prevent any breakaways from escaping off the front of the peloton. Once on the run, despite his best efforts, Mola proved to be too strong and the Brit was unable to respond to the large last lap push by the Spaniard.

“I feel really good, the running was great, and although the bike was not good and I did not have a good transition I’m pleased that all my run training worked well and I was able to win,” said Mola.

Audio interviews:
Junior world champion, Mario Mola

Junior world champion, Mario Mola [Spanish]

Junior bronze medallist, Kristof Kiralyhun

Article gallery
Related Event: 2009 Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Grand Final Gold Coast
09 - 13 Sep, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Hollie Avil GBR 01:56:38
2. Jodie Stimpson GBR 01:57:01
3. Paula Findlay CAN 01:57:15
4. Vicky Holland GBR 01:57:30
5. Yuliya Yelistratova UKR 01:59:48
6. Sarah Fladung GER 02:00:22
7. Annamaria Mazzetti ITA 02:00:31
8. Charlotte Morel FRA 02:00:32
9. Agnieszka Jerzyk POL 02:00:44
10. Dan Bi Hong KOR 02:00:50
Results: U23 Men
1. Franz Loeschke GER 01:46:19
2. James Seear AUS 01:46:25
3. Joao Pereira POR 01:46:32
4. Tony Dodds NZL 01:46:39
5. Jonathan Zipf GER 01:46:41
6. Jose Miguel Perez ESP 01:46:57
7. Ivan Tutukin RUS 01:47:04
8. Crisanto Grajales MEX 01:47:15
9. Lukas Salvisberg SUI 01:47:30
10. Denis Vasiliev RUS 01:47:34
Results: Junior Men
1. Mario Mola ESP 00:54:35
2. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 00:54:50
3. Kristóf Király HUN 00:54:55
4. Kevin McDowell USA 00:55:07
5. Davide Uccellari ITA 00:55:10
6. Igor Polyanskiy RUS 00:55:13
7. Min Ho Heo KOR 00:55:14
8. Andrey Bryukhankov RUS 00:55:19
9. Stefan Zachäus LUX 00:55:22
10. Matheus Diniz BRA 00:55:25
Results: Junior Women
1. Emmie Charayron FRA 01:00:22
2. Emma Jackson AUS 01:00:41
3. Rachel Klamer NED 01:00:57
4. Maaike Caelers NED 01:00:59
5. Alexandra Razarenova RUS 01:01:05
6. Allison Hooper CAN 01:01:09
7. Holly Aitken AUS 01:01:27
8. Kyla Coates CAN 01:01:39
9. Carina Brechters GER 01:01:40
10. Yuka Sato JPN 01:01:51
Tracker Pixel for Entry