2014 Long Distance Duathlon World Championships return to Zofingen

by Erin Greene on 24 Jan, 2014 11:18 • Español

ITU is pleased to announce it has awarded the ITU Powerman 2014 Long Distance Duathlon World Championships to Zofingen, Switzerland. ITU will continue its partnership with the Powerman Association, as it organises the event for the seventh consecutive year on September 7th.

“Multisports are an integral part of our federation,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “We look forward to again partnering with Powerman to provide the highest level of competition possible for duathletes.”

The race will dually serve as the pinnacle of ITU’s long distance duathlon season, as well as feature as a part of the Powerman Series.

Elite duathletes will fight it out for gold over a 10km run followed by a 150km bike then a 30km run with a total prize purse of $50,000 USD on offer, equal for men and women.

“Zofingen is the world’s leading and most challenging long distance duathlon series, having taken place every year since 1989,” said Zofingen Powerman President Stefan Ruf. “We are thrilled to again be able to crown the ITU World Champions at the most important long distance duathlon race for the seventh time. Our Swiss precision in organisation makes Zofingen a unique experience for athletes.” 

Last year Eva Nystrom (SWE) won the women’s race for the second time by an astonishing eleven minutes, while Rob Woestenborghs (BEL) earned his first long distance title in the men’s race by nearly three minutes.

Click here for more information on the event

Related Event: 2014 Zofingen ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships
07 Sep, 2014 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Gaël Le Bellec FRA 06:21:47
2. Yannick Cadalen FRA 06:26:05
3. Søren Bystrup DEN 06:27:44
4. Seppe Odeyn BEL 06:31:29
5. Anthony Le Duey FRA 06:38:17
6. Matt Moorhouse GBR 06:41:22
7. Gabriel Lombriser SUI 06:41:32
8. Christopher Legh AUS 06:45:03
9. Mike Schifferle SUI 06:49:03
10. Ueli Bieler SUI 06:54:21
Results: Elite Women
1. Emma Pooley GBR 06:47:27
2. Eva Nystrom SWE 07:19:17
3. Laura Hrebec SUI 07:20:52
4. Julia Viellehner GER 07:26:11
5. Susanne Svendsen DEN 07:33:44
6. Petra Eggenschwiler SUI 07:40:41
7. Anna Rovira Garrido ESP 07:42:58
8. Katrin Esefeld GER 07:44:36
9. Karin Gerber SUI 07:45:30
10. Maja Jacober SUI 07:45:45
Results: Men's PT3
DNF. Franck Paget FRA 00:00:00
DNF. Jean Pierre Astugue FRA 00:00:00
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Sammy Schu GER 07:37:52
2. Matt Baker AUS 07:54:03
3. Jonathan Meek USA 08:27:15
4. Hew Chow SKN 09:12:21
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →