Best of 2014: The first Hall of Fame

by Erin Greene on 03 Jan, 2015 11:12 • Español

This season, we celebrated 25 wonderful, eventful and evolutionary years of triathlon as an International Federation. While the entire year was filled with phenomenal racing, one of the best moments had to be recognizing all of the movers and shakers that made us what we are today with the inaugural Hall of Fame.

To celebrate them, a gala was held at the Edmonton Grand Final during which seven individuals were inducted the Hall of Fame. The inductees were narrowed down from a shortlist of 25 individuals in the categories of elite female and male athlete accomplishments, as well as lifetime achievements.

For the women, Erin Baker (NZL), Karen Smyers (USA) and Emma Carney were inducted, while Mark Allen (USA), Simon Lessing (GBR), and Greg Welch (AUS) joined them on the men’s side. This year’s Lifetime Achievement award went to former ITU President Les McDonald (CAN).

It was a fantastic night of reflection and celebration. Congratulations to everyone who was named as a nominee and to those who were inducted, as well as to all of those who helped make it such a memorable occasion. Here’s to 25 more great years!

And with that, we conclude the top moments of 2014. We hope you’ve enjoyed. Here’s to many more in 2015!

Article tags hall of fame
Tracker Pixel for Entry