ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships Return to Zofingen

by Erin Greene on 28 Aug, 2012 10:11 • Español
ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships Return to Zofingen

For the second consecutive year and the fifth time in history, the ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships will be decided in the small and scenic Swiss town of Zofingen. Defending world champions Melanie Burke (NZL) and Joerie Vansteelant (BEL) will each return in attempts to repeat as the fastest duathletes in the world. The grueling race is set over a challenging 10km run, 150km bike, 30km run distance that includes a steep climb on the bike and hills at the beginning of each run lap.

Women’s Preview:
Although Burke was crowned the 2011 champion, her title isn’t necessarily secure the second time around. As the duathlon season in Burke’s native New Zealand begins after the World Championships, the three-time Oceania duathlon champion has yet to race in the event this year. However, that doesn’t mean she isn’t in form. Burke prepared for the seven-hour race by competing in triathlons earlier in the year.

Burke’s biggest threat comes from Eva Nystorm (SWE), who took home silver last year. With veteran and 2011 bronze medallist Erika Csomor (HUN) missing from the start list, Nystorm and Burke could have a dangerous advantage.

To vie for the title, Nystorm will need to maintain pace with Burke on the three-lap bike course, where the defending champion gained an unconquerable lead last year with the top bike split. However, Nystorm, who clocked the fastest 30km run split in 2011, may have an advantage over Burke in the final duathlon discipline. While Burke’s cycling training has been on par, she suffered a running injury this year, exposing a weakness to Nystorm’s strength.

May Kerstens (NED), who is currently ranked third in the Powerwoman charts and finished fourth in the race last year, could also pose a threat. Lucy Gossage (GBR), the 2012 European Championships gold medallist, looks to be in strong racing form and could challenge for the podium.

Click here for full women’s start list

Men’s Preview:
Four-time reigning world champion Joerie Vansteelant looks dangerous as ever, having recently won the Powerman Austria Duathlon in August and European Championships earlier in the year. If the Belgian is in any form compared to 2011, there will be no stopping him. Vansteelant owned the race from start to finish, having posted the top 10km run and 150km bike splits and lowered the course record.

Only silver medallist Thibaut Humbert (FRA), who is slated to compete again this year, out-ran Vansteelant’s 30km run split. However, Humbert’s 11-second advantage on the final run was no match for Vansteelant, who crossed over the finish line nearly 10 minutes ahead. Andrea Sutz (SUI), the 2011 bronze medallist, joins Humbert in the attempt to challenge Vansteelant’s hunt for double gold. Sutz’s racing ability, however, is a question mark, as he was forced to forgo running from February until June due to a training accident.

Anthony Le Duey (FRA) will also be a competitor to watch out for, as he is coming off a second-place finish to Vansteelant at European Championships. The Frenchman finished fifth in the race last year. Soren Bystrupe (DEN), who will be looking to avenge his missed podium in 2011, will no doubt be a top competitor.

Click here for full men’s start list

The women’s race gets underway at 8:00am on Sunday 2 September for the women. The men will take off an hour later at 9:00am local time. Follow Powerman Zofingen on twitter @PM_Zofingen for all the latest news and action from the 2012 ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships.

Related Event: 2012 Zofingen ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships
02 Sep, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Eva Nystrom SWE 07:05:48
2. Lucy Gossage GBR 07:10:09
3. May Kerstens NED 07:25:25
4. Karin Gerber SUI 07:32:37
5. Simone Helfenschneider-Ofner AUT 07:33:17
Results: Elite Men
1. Joerie Vansteelant BEL 06:07:58
2. Rob Woestenborghs BEL 06:12:34
3. Søren Bystrup DEN 06:21:38
4. Thibaut Humbert FRA 06:23:52
5. Beat Ritter SUI 06:26:40
Results: 70-74 Male AG
DNF. Wolfgang Von Kanel SUI DNF
Results: 65-69 Male AG
1. Lynneaous Noble IRL 09:59:01
2. Heinz Bauer GER 10:17:34
Results: 60-64 Male AG
1. Louis Ackermann SUI 08:19:14
2. Tim Briscoe RSA 08:20:54
3. Wolfgang Raab GER 08:59:29
4. Felix Baettig SUI 09:15:16
DNF. Mike Morris USA DNF
Results: 55-59 Male AG
1. Franz Gruber AUT 08:08:35
2. Herbert Nothacker GER 08:13:57
3. André Maire FRA 08:42:11
4. Gary Smith USA 09:01:46
5. Remy Jeannaud FRA 09:16:03
Results: 55-59 Female AG
1. Sheri Schrock USA 11:10:10
Results: 50-54 Male AG
1. Urs Steffen SUI 07:33:00
2. Steven Howes GBR 07:56:27
3. Kees Greidanus NED 08:18:23
4. Rolf Muller RSA 08:22:35
5. Olivier Humbert FRA 08:36:16
Results: 50-54 Female AG
1. Christiane Golenia GER 08:41:00
2. Sheila Power IRL 09:57:26
3. Consuelo Mas Molio ESP 10:20:52
4. Annie Lemmon RSA 11:04:31
5. Catherine Angeliniadis FRA 11:10:39
Results: 40-44 Male AG
1. Paolo Sorichetti ITA 07:00:54
2. Stephane Briquez FRA 07:12:16
3. Andreas Flörchinger GER 07:15:38
4. Oliver Kientz GER 07:35:23
5. Mark Albracht GER 07:38:18
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry