African Champs in Mauritius

by World Triathlon Admin on 01 Apr, 2007 12:00

Kate Roberts and Hendrik de Villiers of South Africa have won the 2007 ATU African Triathlon Championships in Le Coco Beach, Mauritius. Hot and humid weather conditions and crystal clear water welcomed over one hundred athletes competing in the elite and age group races.

The 23 year-old Roberts, was able to defend her title after breaking away on the run to finish in a time of 2 hours 4 minutes and 50 seconds. A minute and forty-nine seconds behind in second place was ITU BG scholarship athlete - South Africa’s Marie Rabie and relative new-comer Claire Kinsley, also from South Africa, a further 2 minutes and 44 seconds back in third.

Roberts lead out of the swim but in the warm lagoon waters, but she was closely followed by Rabie into first transition. The two women joined forces on the bike on the first lap but it was not long before Rabie attempted to break away from her team mate. These attempts were unsuccessful however, and their combined effort was not enough to keep the chase group of Kinsley and U23 competitor Corinne Berg away.

The four athletes entered second transition together but early into the 10 kilometre run course it was Roberts who pulled away and, with the fastest run split of the day, was able to claim the title of African Triathlon Champion.

In the men’s race it was de Villiers who was able to best fellow countrymen Erhard Wolfaardt and Kent Horner to take first overall in a time of 1 hour 46 minutes and 53 seconds. Wolfaardt and Horner finished third and fifth, respectively.

The two pre-race favourites – Hendrik de Villiers from South Africa and David Hauss from France – took the early lead in the 1,500 metre swim. Athletes from outside of Africa were allowed to compete for the prize money, but not for the overall title and ranking points.

The two athletes worked together on the bike and maintained their lead over the chase group by over a minute. De Villiers had the better run on the day although he did not arrive in top form for this championship. Lap by lap de Villiers increased his lead over Hauss but suffered several cramps on the final lap to finish only 5 seconds ahead of the Frenchman.

Wolfaardt was the fastest runner from the chase group, but was not able to erase the almost 2 minute deficit after the bike, and finished in third place overall, second in the African Championships. A further 2 minutes back was African Championship bronze medalist Horner.

2007 ATU African Triathlon Championships – Elite Women

ROBERTS, Kate (RSA)              2:04:50*
RABIE, Marie (RSA)                  2:06:39*
KINSLEY, Claire (RSA)                2:09:23*
COUDIERE, Soizic (FRA)            2:27:05

2007 ATU African Triathlon Championships – Elite Men

DE VILLIERS, Hendrik (RSA)        1:46:54*
HAUSS, David (FRA)                  1:46:59
WOLFAARDT, Erhard (RSA)        1:48:39*
BARDI, David (FRA)                  1:50:18
HORNER, Kent (RSA)                1:50:47*
FELGATE, Christopher (ZIM)          1:53:13*
MARTIN, David (ZIM)                  2:00:36*
POLARD, Yann (FRA)                2:02:50
BHAGEEA, Michee (MRI)              2:11:59

*African Championships

The program of the weekend continued with the Annual General Meeting of the African Triathlon Union (ATU).

Clcik here for full results.

Hendrik de Villiers (RSA) crossing the line to win the 2007 ATU African Championships.

Kate Roberts (RSA) had the fastest run split of the day to win.

Related Event: 2007 Le Coco Beach ATU Triathlon African Championships
31 Mar, 2007 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Hendrik De Villiers RSA 01:46:53
2. David Hauss FRA 01:46:58
3. Erhard Wolfaardt RSA 01:48:39
4. David Bardi FRA 01:50:17
5. Kent Horner RSA 01:50:46
Results: Elite Women
1. Kate Roberts RSA 02:04:50
2. Mari Rabie RSA 02:06:39
3. Claire Kinsley RSA 02:09:23
4. Soizic Coudiere FRA 02:27:05
Results: U23 Men
1. Mehdi Essadiq MAR 01:53:12
2. Gian Wolfaardt RSA 01:57:38
3. Valery Jean Michel Charles MRI 02:28:01
Results: U23 Women
1. Corinne Berg RSA 02:05:32
2. Fabienne St Louis MRI 02:19:24
Results: Junior Men
1. Loy De Jager RSA 01:01:49
2. Theo Blignaut RSA 01:01:55
3. Wikus Weber RSA 01:03:44
4. Jaryd Wagner RSA 01:05:00
5. Valery De Falbaire MRI 01:06:23
Results: Junior Women
1. Vicky Van Der Merwe RSA 01:05:55
2. Ashley Finaughty ZIM 01:09:32
3. Sophie Jennifer Henrisson MRI 01:15:35
4. Jaimie-Lee Ford ZIM 01:27:07
DNF. Kirsten Huysamen RSA DNF
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Bright Mamogale RSA 02:02:03
Results: 25-29 Male AG
1. Janot Fra MRI 00:29:24
Results: 45-49 Male AG
1. Micheal Van Der Vaart NAM 02:32:43
2. Charlie Hand ZIM 02:55:52
Results: 50-54 Male AG
1. Siddick Khedarun MRI 02:48:06
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →