Cancun World Cup this weekend

by ITU Admin on 23 Oct, 2007 12:00

Round 14 of the 2007 BG Triathlon World Cup series travels to the stunning Mexican resort city of Cancun this weekend.  A strong men’s field will be looking to gain some ground in the world cup series points race including 2000 Olympic gold medalist Simon Whitfield of Canada and the dangerous Kiwi tandem of Bevan Docherty and Kris Gemmell.  Not to be ignored is Aussie Greg Bennett, Pan Am Games gold medalist Andy Potts and British teenager Alistair Brownlee who won silver in just his second world cup two weeks ago.

On the women’s side, two-time defending champion Anja Dittmer of Germany will be keen hold onto the Cancun title and capture her first world cup win of 2007.  But she’ll face a tough challenge from the women’s field including Samantha Warriner, winner of two world cups in 2007, and four-time world championship medalist Laura Bennett of the United States.

With water temperature expected to be 26 degrees Celsius, athletes will swim two 750-meter laps in Langosta Beach in a non-wetsuit swim.  Then they will ride eight 5-kilometer laps of a flat bike course passing beautiful Langosta Beach and Tortuga Beach.  Off their bikes, athletes will run four laps on a fast 2.5-kilometer run course.

Cancun has hosted world cup races eight times since 1997, as well as the world championships in 1995 and 2002.

Click here for more information and course map

Click here for results

Click here for results and photo gallery from 2006

Simon Whitfield Interview.

Bevan Docherty Interview.

Related Event: 2007 Cancun BG Triathlon World Cup
04 Nov, 2007 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Simon Whitfield CAN 01:52:05
2. Paul Tichelaar CAN 01:52:06
3. Volodymyr Polikarpenko UKR 01:52:08
4. Brent Mcmahon CAN 01:52:09
5. Yulian Malyshev RUS 01:52:12
6. Samuel Pierreclaud FRA 01:52:42
7. Reinaldo Colucci BRA 01:53:11
8. Stuart Hayes GBR 01:53:26
9. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:53:41
10. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:53:51
Results: Elite Women
1. Julie Ertel USA 02:03:22
2. Carole Peon FRA 02:03:34
3. Sarah Haskins USA 02:03:37
4. Jodie Swallow GBR 02:03:39
5. Laura Bennett USA 02:04:15
6. Sarah True USA 02:04:18
7. Anja Dittmer GER 02:04:37
8. Kerry Lang GBR 02:04:42
9. Jasmine Oeinck USA 02:07:22
10. Juri Ide JPN 02:07:55
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →