Dame Flora Duffy and Gustav Iden named triathletes of the year at the GTAs gala

by Olalla Cernuda on 21 Jan, 2023 07:20 • Español
Dame Flora Duffy and Gustav Iden named triathletes of the year at the GTAs gala

Tokyo 2020 Olympic champion and four-time World Triathlon Champion Dame Flora Duffy and IRONMAN World Champion Gustav Iden scooped the top awards at a star-studded inaugural Global Triathlon Awards (GTAs) night at the Palais de la Mediterranee in Nice, France.

The GTAs brought together the very best in triathlon, from current and former world champion athletes from across triathlon distances and eras, as well as leaders in the sport and cutting-edge brands and media, to celebrate and recognise outstanding contributions across the industry. The partners of the awards were World Triathlon, Super League Triathlon, Professional Triathlete’s Organisation, France’s Department 06 and Ekoi for the inaugural 2023 event.

A glittering ceremony hosted by Will McCloy and marathon world champion and endurance sports legend Paula Radcliffe, saw Norwegian Gustav Iden and Bermuda’s Dame Flora Duffy walk away with the Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Chelsea Sodaro took the Rookie of the Year Award, while Talbot Cox was named as Outstanding Contributor.

The coveted Lifetime Kudos Award - Contributor went to the legendary Bob Babbitt while the athlete Award was given to Nicola Spirig. Other winners included FORM Smart Swim Goggles, Zwift Hub, LEVER System, Maurten Hydrogel and Supersapiens.

The night also saw the Freanch Triathlon Team being recognized for their outstanding results this season with the Extraordinary Award, with current world champion Leo Bergere, two times world champion Vincent Luis, para triathlon world champion Elise Marc and Dorien Coninx, Pierre Le Corre, Cassandre Beaugrand, Leonie Periault and Emma Lombardi all present on stage.

Gustav Iden said: “I made a deal with Kristian (Blummenfelt) that no matter who won we would applaud so I looked over to Kristian and saw he was disappointed but still applauded so that was so good and it is so good to be appreciated by your peers. I think I am a worthy winner but so would the other nominees have been.”

Dame Flora Duffy said: “I am really proud to have won and definitely surprised because the women I was up against had incredible performances last year. The GTAs was so fun. I have never been to an evening like this for triathlon, never got dressed up or seen everyone so dressed up that I had to do a few double takes. It was a very special night and may this continue to happen year after year.”

All but the Kudos Awards were nominated by the public, with an expert judging panel of industry experts then whittling down the shortlist and picking the final winners. This year, the panel included Jordan Blanco, Stephane Diagana, Emma-Kate Lidbury, Tim Don and Chelsea Burns.

Best Male Triathlete (Sponsored by Super League Triathlon): Gustav Iden
Best Female Triathlete (Sponsored by PTO): Dame Flora Duffy
Rookie of the Year (Sponsored by World Triathlon): Chelsea Sodaro
Outstanding Contributor (Sponsored by EKOI): Talbot Cox
The Lifetime Kudos - Contributor: Bob Babbitt
The Lifetime Kudos - Pro Triathlete (Sponsored by Department 06): Nicola Spirig
Best Swim Product: FORM Smart Swim Goggles
Best Bike Product: Zwift Hub
Best Run Product: LEVER System
Outstanding Nutrition Product: Maurten Hydrogel
Outstanding Tech Product (Sponsored by Department 06): Supersapiens

Article gallery
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →