Duathlon World Champs Preview

by World Triathlon Admin on 23 Sep, 2008 12:01

Olympic silver medallist Vanessa Fernandes headlines the elite competition at this Saturday’s ITU Duathlon World Championships in Rimini, Italy.  One of the most accomplished athletes in ITU history and known as one of the two greatest runners in triathlon today, Fernandes is perhaps less known as one of the strongest cyclists in the world.  She was introduced to triathlon in 1999 by her father Venceslau Fernandes, a former cyclist and winner of the 1984 Volta a Portugal.  Four years later she became junior Duathlon world champion.

Last year Fernandes won her first elite Duathlon world championship in Gyor, Hungary and will defend her title this weekend in Rimini against a field that includes Duathlon star Catriona Morrison.  Her resume includes a silver medal in 2005, gold medal in 2006, last year’s European Duathlon championship and the last two Long Distance Duathlon World Championships.  Last year in Gyor she finished a disappointing ninth place but this year will likely challenge Fernandes for the top spot.

Click here for full women’s start list

On the men’s side, two-time Duathlon world champion Paul Amey of Great Britain defends the world title he won last year in Hungary.  Most recently Amey took silver at the ETU Long Distance Triathlon European Championships earlier this month in Gerardmer, France.  This weekend he’ll face still competition from Belgium and Portugal to repeat as champion.

Notably among his challengers will be Joerie Vansteelant, who successfully defended his long distance world championship last month in front of home crowds.  The Belgian has yet to podium in the short course world championships but was the under23 world champion twice.  Also in the field will be Vansteelant’s Belgian teammate Jurgen Dereere who has finished runner-up at the Duathlon world championships for the past two years.  Sergio Silva and Lino Barruncho will carry Portuguese medal hopes in the men’s field.  Silva was a bronze medallist in Gyor last year and the under23 world champion from 2006.  Other notables to watch include Rob Woestenborghs of Belgium and Javier Garcia of Spain.

Click here for full men’s start list

In all there are more than 1200 duathletes representing 39 countries this weekend contesting age-group, AWAD, junior and under23 categories.

The Duathlon world championships are the 19th in ITU history.  Rimini is located on the east coast of Italy, approximately 120 kilometers southeast of Bologna. It will be the third time Italy will host the Duathlon world championships and the second time for Rimini. Ferrara was the first Italian city to host in 1996.

Click here for more event information

Vanessa Fernandes wins the 2007 ITU Duathlon World Championship in Gyor, Hungary

Article tags duathlon rimini
Related Event: 2008 Rimini ITU Duathlon World Championships
27 - 28 Sep, 2008 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Agnieszka Jerzyk POL 02:06:08
2. Olesya Prystayko UKR 02:07:05
3. Morgane Riou FRA 02:11:58
4. Maria Casciotti ITA 02:14:38
5. Jana Polacikova SVK 02:15:42
Results: U23 Men
1. Bojan Cebin SLO 01:49:29
2. Alessandro Fabian ITA 01:49:49
3. Ritchie Nicholls GBR 01:53:17
4. Maksim Ivanov RUS 01:53:39
5. Gordan Petkovic CRO 01:54:02
Results: Junior Women
1. Sophie Coleman GBR 01:04:01
2. Ruth Nivon Machoud MEX 01:04:43
3. Barbara Balogh HUN 01:04:43
4. Elena Danilova RUS 01:04:47
5. Alexandra Razarenova RUS 01:04:50
Results: Junior Men
1. Richard Murray RSA 00:56:13
2. Alex Ascenzi ITA 00:56:19
3. Oscar Vicente ESP 00:56:23
4. Franz Loeschke GER 00:56:34
5. Mario Mola ESP 00:56:35
Results: Elite Women
1. Vanessa Fernandes POR 02:00:51
2. Catriona Morrison GBR 02:02:29
3. Ana Burgos Acuña ESP 02:04:27
4. Alexandra Louison FRA 02:04:51
5. Laura Giordano ITA 02:05:09
Results: Elite Men
1. Rob Woestenborghs BEL 01:47:37
2. Paul Amey GBR 01:48:00
3. Bart Aernouts BEL 01:48:07
4. Sergio Silva POR 01:48:36
5. Sergey Yakovlev RUS 01:48:52
Results: 75-79 Male AG
1. David Peck GBR 03:04:56
2. Peter Howard GBR 03:10:22
3. Ray Bennett NZL 03:20:54
4. Leon D'Erbee BEL 03:45:04
Results: 70-74 Male AG
1. Francesco Fiori ITA 02:29:54
2. Nino Menghi ITA 02:34:33
3. Theo Herberger GER 02:38:28
4. Les Bailey GBR 02:41:16
5. Rolf Oppermann GER 02:44:51
Results: 70-74 Female AG
1. Giuseppina Capra ITA 03:48:54
DNF. Gabriele Pelz GER DNF
Results: 65-69 Male AG
1. Karl-Heinz Tiefengraber AUT 02:24:52
2. Roberto De Marcellis ITA 02:28:43
3. Dirk Benschop NED 02:30:43
4. Horst Wittnebel GER 02:35:29
5. Joe Carr USA 02:35:53
Tracker Pixel for Entry