Entries open for 2011 Gijon ITU Duathlon World Championships

by Merryn Sherwood on 18 Apr, 2011 06:35 • Español

Registrations for the 2011 Gijon ITU Duathlon World Championships in Spain on September 24 and 25 are now open.

This year’s duathlon world championships includes elite races, junior, under23, mixed team relay, age-group and paraduathlon events across the run, bike, run discipline in standard and sprint distances.

The circuit for the elite races will be centred around the sporting complex in Las Mestas and the run will pass through the Stadium of El Molinón and Isabel la Católica. Athletes will complete four laps of the 2.5km track in the first 10km run leg, before eight laps of a 5.4km course to make up the 43.2km bike leg that runs along the Paseo de le Playa de San Lorenzo. Athletes will then return to the run course, for the final 5km sprint to the finish.

As well as the chance to an ITU World Champion, there is also is 80,000 EUR on offer across the elite men’s and women’s and mixed team relay categories.

The mixed team relay will be staged on parts of the elite course, but with each athlete completing a 2km run, 7.6km bike and 1km run, before tagging the next.

Gijon is in northern Spain, and is a popular tourist area thanks to its position on the Spanish coast. The circuit was also designed with fans in mind, with many great viewing spots along the course.

Please click here to visit the Gijon website for more information on entry, accommodation and course details.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2011 Gijon ITU Duathlon World Championships
24 - 25 Sep, 2011 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Alexandra Cassan Ferrier FRA 02:05:43
2. Sofie Hooghe BEL 02:09:24
3. Arina Shulgina RUS 02:13:32
4. María Ortega De Miguel ESP 02:14:17
5. Ami Haishima JPN 02:14:53
6. Tomomi Kurihara JPN 02:24:01
DNF. Alice Capone ITA 00:00:00
DNF. Elena Danilova RUS 00:00:00
DNF. Nelmare Loubser RSA 00:00:00
DNF. Thays Dos Santos BRA 00:00:00
Results: U23 Men
1. Etienne Diemunsch FRA 01:50:36
2. Matthew Gunby GBR 01:51:40
3. Miguel Arraiolos POR 01:51:51
4. Fernando Alarza ESP 01:51:54
5. Miguel Angel Fidalgo ESP 01:52:28
6. Jesus Gomar GEO 01:52:32
7. Maciej Kubiak POL 01:52:50
8. Tim Van Hemel BEL 01:53:01
9. Uxio Abuin Ares ESP 01:56:06
10. José Estrangeiro POR 01:56:56
Results: Junior Women
1. Jocelyn Daniely Brea Abreu ITU 01:03:12
2. Elena Maria Petrini ITA 01:03:37
3. Melina Alonso ESP 01:03:51
4. Georgina Schwiening GBR 01:04:07
5. Aleksandra Antkiewicz POL 01:04:31
6. Rita Lopes POR 01:04:32
7. Laura Gomez Ramon ESP 01:04:37
8. Xisca Tous ESP 01:04:45
9. Ana Paula Huerta MEX 01:04:45
10. Liis-Grete Arro EST 01:05:00
Results: Junior Men
1. Matthias Steinwandter ITA 00:56:31
2. David Mendoza MEX 00:56:36
3. David Castro Fajardo ESP 00:56:36
4. Nan Oliveras ESP 00:56:38
5. Delian Stateff ITA 00:56:42
6. Rodolphe Von Berg USA 00:56:49
7. Michael Pienaar RSA 00:56:55
8. Rhys Park GBR 00:56:59
9. Anton Melnikov RUS 00:57:06
10. Antonio Benito Lopez ESP 00:57:09
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →