Euro Paratriathletes break records

by ITU Admin on 02 Jul, 2009 12:01

25 athletes from eight European countries will be at the start line for the paratriathlon competition at Holten 2009 ETU Triathlon European Championships. This will be the biggest European paratriathlon championship in the history of the ETU.

In the womens field, Monique Van der Vorst is going to have the support of the locals as she represents Netherlands in the TRI1 category for wheelchair athletes. In the TRI4 category (arm impairment), the British champion Clare Cunningham will go for the European title and in category TRI6 for the blind athletes, Sara Butler from Great Britain is going to battle for the gold against Joleen Hakker from The Netherlands following her victory at the British disabled championship.

In the mens field, the competition is expected to be extremely high. Rafael Lopez from Spain will try to keep his title in the TRI1 category as he is challenged by the 2009 British champion James Goddard along with David Cooke and the locals favourite Maurice Wiegman. On the TRI3 front (Les Austres), Santos Caballero from Spain will try to claim the ETU title after winning the Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series event in Madrid. Caballero needs to outpace the 2008 world champion Sebastian Averesch from Germany, James Smith from Great Britain and Dutchman Rob Noordzij.

All the paratriathlon fans are going to watch the TRI4 category closely, where Peter Boronkay will try to repeat his performance from last year which took him to the top step of the podium. Boronkay will compete against the 2008 and 2007 world champion Andreas Kbler from Germany. Andreas compatriot, Olaf Kohn, and the British paratriathletes Alasdair Grice and Tom Perkins, along with the 2006 world triathlon champion, Austrian Martin Falch, provide the competition.

For the TRI5 category (moderate leg impairment), Ernst Scheiber from Austria and Juan Daniel Gordillo will battle for the gold medal, and in the TRI6 category, the Italian Ferrari Alberto Ceriani will try to hold on to his title against his French challengers Philippe Cuvillier and Herve Woskowiak. 2009 British champion Chris Goodwin and his teammate Haseeb Ahmad also compete.

If you have any additional question about ITU Paratriathlon please contact Thanos Nikopoulos

25 atletas de ocho pases europeos tomarn la salida en la competicin de paratriatln de los Campeonatos de Europa de Triatln ETU de Holten 2009. Esta ser la mayor participacin en paratriatln en unos Campeonatos de Europa en la historia de la ETU. 

En la categora femenina, Monique Van der Vorst tendr el apoyo de la aficin local ya que representar a Holanda en la categora TRI1 para atletas en silla de ruedas. En la categora TRI4 (disfuncionalidad en el brazo), la campeona britnica Clare Cunningham ir a por el ttulo europeo y en la categora TRI6 para los atletas ciegos, Sara Butler de Gran Bretaa luchar por el oro contra la holandesa Joleen Hakker tras su victoria en el campeonato britnico para discapacitados.

En la categora masculina se espera una competicin de muy alto nivel. El espaol Rafael Lpez intentar revalidar su ttulo en la categora TRI1 aunque tendr la dura rivalidad del campen britnico de 2009 James Goddard, adems de David Cooke y del favorito local Maurice Wiegman. En categora TRI3, el espaol Santos Caballero intentar ganar el ttulo ETU despus de ganar la prueba de los Campeonatos del Mundo de Triatln ITU Dextro Energy de Madrid. Caballero debe superar al campen del mundo de 2008, el alemn Rob Noordzij.

Todos los aficionados al paratriatln vern de cerca la categora TRI4, en donde Peter Boronkay intentar repetir su actuacin del ao pasado que le llev a subirse a lo ms alto del pdium. Boronkay competir contra el campen del mundo de 2008 y 2007, el alemn Andreas Kbler, el compatriota de Andreas, Olaf Kohn, los paratriatletas britnicos Alasdair Grice y Tom Perkins y con el campen del mundo de triatln de 2006, el austriaco Martin Falch.

Para la categora TRI5 (disfuncionalidad moderada en la pierna), el austriaco Ernst Scheiber y Juan Daniel Gordillo lucharn por la medalla de oro y en la categora TRI6, el Ferrari Italiano Alberto Ceriani intentar revalidar su ttulo, pero tendr en frente a los franceses Philippe Cuvillier y Herve Woskowiak y al campen britnico de 2009 Chris as como a su compaero de equipo Hasseb Ahmad.

Si usted tiene alguna pregunta ms sobre el Paratriatln ITU, por favor contacte con Thanos Nikopoulos

Related Event: 2009 Holten ETU Triathlon European Championships
02 - 05 Jul, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:44:14
2. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:44:41
3. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:44:49
4. Frederic Belaubre FRA 01:44:52
5. Ivan Vasiliev RUS 01:44:56
Results: Elite Women
1. Nicola Spirig SUI 01:55:42
2. Elizabeth May LUX 01:56:10
3. Vanessa Fernandes POR 01:56:32
4. Lisa Norden SWE 01:57:00
5. Daniela Ryf SUI 01:57:15
Results: Junior Men
1. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 00:53:07
2. Mario Mola ESP 00:53:26
3. Anton Kozlov RUS 00:53:39
4. Alex Ascenzi ITA 00:53:46
5. Thomas Bishop GBR 00:53:50
Results: Junior Women
1. Emmie Charayron FRA 00:59:09
2. Rachel Klamer NED 00:59:39
3. Vicky Graves GBR 00:59:46
4. Alexandra Razarenova RUS 00:59:54
5. Sophie Coleman GBR 01:00:01
Results: Mixed Relay
1. Team I Ukraine UKR 01:47:27
2. Team I Russia RUS 01:47:33
3. Team I Hungary HUN 01:47:49
4. Team II Netherlands NED 01:47:50
5. Team I Spain ESP 01:48:21
Results: Mixed Junior Relay
1. Team I Russia RUS 01:49:51
2. Team I Hungary HUN 01:51:22
3. Team I Austria AUT 01:51:26
4. Team I Netherlands NED 01:51:36
5. Team I Switzerland SUI 01:53:14
Results: Paratriathlon Male TRI-1
1. David Cooke GBR 02:54:24
2. James Goddard GBR 02:57:11
3. Rafael López Ordoñez ESP 02:57:12
4. Maurice Wiegman NED 03:00:20
Results: Paratriathlon Male TRI-3
1. Rob Noordzij NED 02:23:42
2. Sebastian Averesch GER 02:26:45
3. James Smith GBR 02:41:48
4. Santos Caballero ESP 03:21:11
Results: Paratriathlon Male TRI-4
1. Péter Boronkay HUN 02:10:00
2. Andreas Kübler GER 02:15:27
3. Martin Falch AUT 02:17:48
4. Tom Perkins GBR 02:22:35
5. Olaf Kohn GER 02:32:27
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →