WTPS Leeds crowns its first para triathlon champions

by doug.gray@triathlon.org on 05 Jun, 2021 08:26 • Español
WTPS Leeds crowns its first para triathlon champions

On a glorious Saturday in Roundhay Park, Leeds, the inaugural AJ Bell World Triathlon Para Championships Leeds delivered some superb performances as the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Qualification period continued.

The men’s PTVI category got the day’s racing underway, the visually impaired men chasing precious qualification points for their category’s Paralympic debut this August. It was Great Britain’s Dave Ellis B3 who set the pace from the first strokes of the swim, Hector Catala Laparra B2 unable to reign him in but narrowly taking the silver ahead of Thibaut Rigaudeau B2.

“It’s just nice to be back and racing in front of people again. My last time was Funchal in 2019 so it’s been a while, now we just want to go out and do that again in Tokyo,” said Ellis.

There was a familiar face on top of the women’s PTVI podium after Spain’s Susana Rodriguez B1 once again put together a commanding performance to secure another Series gold, Anna Barbaro B1 (ITA) and Alison Peasgood B2 (GBR) completing the podium.

The men’s PTWC wheelchair race saw Netherlands’ Jetze Plat H2 extend his winning streak as he continues to look untouchable in his pursuit of the world title and Paralympic double, Geert Schipper H2 (NED) and Florian Brungraber H2 with silver and bronze.

Kendall Gretsch H2 clearly enjoyed herself in the women’s PTWC, Eva Maria Moral Pedrero H1 with silver and Mona Francis H2 the bronze.

“I really loved this course, it was a challenging bike and technical run and it’s been good to be able to race ahead of the Games,” said Gretsch. “I’m just happy to keep moving forward and have some more racing before Tokyo.”

Jules Ribstein (FRA) was in dominant mood on route to the men’s PTS2 title, 100 seconds ahead of Netherlands’ Maurits Morsink (NED),  Adam Popp (USA) finishing third. USA’s Hailey Danz managed to edge Veronica Yoko Plebani to the women’s gold, Melissa Stockwell putting in the fastest 5km time of 22.58 to earn bronze.

Nico Van Der Burgt won the men’s PTS3, while Alexis Hanquinquant’s 15.42 time over the 5km run saw him fly to the men’s PTS4 gold by more than five minutes from Britain’s Michael Taylor, Eric Mcelvenny of USA with the bronze. Kelly Elmlinger (USA) earned the women’s gold in 1:17.37.

Another American, Chris Hammer, had a vintage performance to win the PTS5, his first race since bronze in Lausanne in 2019. A 14.55 run was to be the difference after an epic battle with Yannick Bourseux (FRA) in Roundhay Park, Jairo Ruiz Lopez (ESP) winning the bronze.

Lauren Steadman made the most of a home race to banish any fears of being race rusty, stretching to gold away from teammate Claire Cashmore, who was locked in an incredible battle with USA’s Grace Norman, passing the American for a final and decisive time as they hit the blue carpet to take the silver.

For the full results, click here

Article gallery
Related Event: AJ Bell 2021 World Triathlon Para Series Leeds
05 - 06 Jun, 2021 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 01:01:47
2. Geert Schipper H2 NED 01:06:57
3. Florian Brungraber H2 AUT 01:09:20
4. Ahmed Andaloussi H1 FRA 01:12:23
5. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:12:43
Results: PTWC Women
1. Kendall Gretsch H2 USA 01:19:40
2. Eva María Moral Pedrero H1 ESP 01:25:32
3. Mona Francis H2 FRA 01:30:20
4. Rita Cuccuru H1 ITA 01:31:15
5. Brenda Osnaya Alvarez H1 MEX 01:31:32
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Jules Ribstein FRA 01:11:44
2. Maurits Morsink NED 01:13:20
3. Adam Popp USA 01:20:26
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Hailey Danz USA 01:22:09
2. Veronica Yoko Plebani ITA 01:24:57
3. Melissa Stockwell USA 01:25:29
4. Liisa Lilja FIN 01:25:50
5. Cécile Saboureau FRA 01:26:54
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Nico Van Der Burgt NED 01:09:50
DNF. Daniel Molina ESP DNF
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 01:00:26
2. Michael Taylor GBR 01:05:56
3. Eric Mcelvenny USA 01:07:03
4. Joe Kurt LUX 01:07:04
5. Clint Pickin AUS 01:07:38
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Kelly Elmlinger USA 01:17:37
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Chris Hammer USA 01:01:44
2. Yannick Bourseaux FRA 01:01:53
3. Jairo Ruiz Lopez ESP 01:02:19
4. Filipe Marques POR 01:02:57
5. Guenther Matzinger AUT 01:03:02
Results: PTS5 Women
1. Lauren Steadman GBR 01:06:04
2. Claire Cashmore GBR 01:06:54
3. Grace Norman USA 01:06:58
4. Gwladys Lemoussu FRA 01:13:30
5. Alisa Kolpakchy UKR 01:16:43
Results: PTVI Men
1. Dave Ellis B3 GBR 01:01:31
2. Héctor Catalá Laparra B2 ESP 01:03:04
3. Thibaut Rigaudeau B2 FRA 01:03:18
4. Arnaud Grandjean B3 FRA 01:03:36
5. Aaron Scheidies B2 USA 01:03:44
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →