World Paratriathlon Events kick off

by Erin Greene on 02 Mar, 2015 11:23 • Español

Article courtesy of the International Paralympic Committee

France’s Yannick Bourseaux showed exactly why he is a two-time world champion, winning the Buffalo City ITU World Paratriathlon event in South Africa on Sunday (1 March); his first race back after major injury.

On a successful day for French athletes, which saw them secure four podium positions, 40-year-old Bourseaux led the way in the men’s PT4 race.

Lying in third after the opening swim, and trailing leader George Peasgood of Great Britain by more than two minutes, Bourseaux put himself in contention for the win with a superb cycle which put him within 25 seconds of first place.

He then delivered the second fastest run of the day to top the podium with an overall time of 1:06.21. Peasgood had to settle for second (1:08.17) whilst Bourseaux’s teammate Yan Guanter (1:10.05) was third.

“1st victory of the season today #HAPPY,” Bourseaux tweeted after victory.

France’s second win of the day came in the men’s PT2 race courtesy of Stephane Bahier (1:16.54). Fastest in both the swim and the cycle, Bahier dropped some time on the run but still comfortably topped the podium ahead of the British duo of Andrew Lewis (1:19.41) and Ryan Taylor (1:20.11).

Great Britain and Spain also enjoyed a successful day of racing with multiple gold medallists, as well. Spaniards Eva Maria Moral Pedrero (1:57.55) took home top honours in the women’s PT1, as did Rakel Mateo Uriarte (1:49.50) in the women’s PT2. Great Britain’s Rhiannon Henry (1:11.46) secured victory in the women’s PT5, while Clare Cunningham (GBR) kicked off her season with a win in women’s PT4.

Italy topped the podium in the men’s PT1 race through Giovanni Achenza (1:12.52). Second after the swim, the Italian was nearly four minutes faster than his rivals in the cycle and cemented victory with the fastest time in the run. Spain’s Jose Vicente Arzo Diago (1:18.56) was second and South Africa’s Anton Swanepoel (1:20.57) third.

Sunday’s other winners included South Africa’s Dylan Da Silva (1:21.03) in the men’s PT3 and Slovenia’s Alen Kobilica (1:12.54) the men’s PT5.

Thirty nine athletes from 12 countries competed in the season opener. Athletes will now gear up for the next ITU World Paratriathlon event that takes place at Sunshine Coast, Australia on 13 March.

Triathlon will make its debut, alongside canoe, at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games between 7-18 September which will feature 22 sports.

Related Event: 2015 Buffalo City ITU World Paratriathlon Event
01 Mar, 2015 • event pageall results
Results: Men's PT1
1. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:12:52
2. José Vicente Arzo Diago H2 ESP 01:18:56
3. Anton Swanepoel H2 RSA 01:20:57
4. Nicholas Pieter Du Preez RSA 01:54:27
Results: Women's PT1
1. Eva María Moral Pedrero H1 ESP 01:57:55
Results: Men's PT2
1. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:16:54
2. Andrew Lewis GBR 01:19:41
3. Ryan Taylor GBR 01:20:11
4. Giovanni Sasso ITA 01:26:56
5. Oswald Kydd RSA 01:26:57
Results: Women's PT2
1. Rakel Mateo Uriarte ESP 01:49:50
Results: Men's PT3
1. Dylan Da Silva RSA 01:21:03
2. Cyril Lorre BEL 01:35:50
Results: Men's PT4
1. Yannick Bourseaux FRA 01:06:21
2. George Peasgood GBR 01:08:17
3. Yan Guanter FRA 01:10:05
4. Antonio Franco Salas ESP 01:14:01
5. Jussi Lotvonen FIN 01:14:07
Results: Women's PT4
1. Clare Cunningham GBR 01:17:38
2. Gwladys Lemoussu FRA 01:26:55
3. Patricia Collins USA 01:31:23
5. Gaelyn Cokayne RSA 02:13:12
4. Petra Lévay HUN 01:38:43
Results: Men's PT5
1. Alen Kobilica B1 SLO 01:12:54
2. David Jones B1 RSA 01:27:01
Results: Women's PT5
1. Rhiannon Henry GBR 01:11:46
2. Melissa Reid B3 GBR 01:16:23
Related articles
  • Paratriathletes to watch this year
    This year’s World Paratriathlon Event circuit is more important than ever as qualification for paratriathlon’s debut at the Rio de Janeiro Paralympics ramps up. Here’s who to watch this paratriathlon season.
    08:04 - 27 Feb, 2015
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →