French Paratriathletes impress on home soil

by Adam Bailey for the IPC on 06 Jun, 2017 04:30 • Español
French Paratriathletes impress on home soil

France’s para triathletes impressed at the first International Triathlon Union (ITU) Para Triathlon World Cup of the season in Besancon, France, on Sunday (4 June).

The French contingent sealed 11 podium-finishes, with Ahmed Andaloussi, Mona Francis, Elise Marc, Alexis Hanquinquant and Gwladys Lemoussu all winning their respective events.

There was a French one-two in the men’s PTHC, with Ahmed Andaloussi (1:13:59) finishing over a minute ahead of his compatriot Alexandre Paviza (1:15:07). Great Britain’s Bret Crossley (1:16:51) ended third to reach his first international podium.

France’s Mona Francis was the sole entrant in the women’s equivalent and completed the course in 1:48:33.

There was further French success in the women’s PTS3. Elise Marc had a 16 second advantage over Germany’s Nora Hansel after transition two, but a strong run by Marc saw her defend her title from last year in 1:28:35, ahead of second-placed Hansel (1:31:12). The German champion held off the challenge from her compatriot Maike Hausberger (1:31:40), who finished 28 seconds further back in third.

Alexis Hanquinquant continued his impressive start to his Para triathlon career with victory on home soil in the men’s PTS4. Last year, Hanquinquant just missed out the podium in only his second ever international race, but twelve months later he was amongst the French athletes celebrating a win.

There were less than 10 seconds between Hanquinquant and Great Britain’s Steven Crowley after the bike leg. The Frenchman (1:07:16) pulled away on the five-kilometre run to finish one minute, 34 seconds ahead of Crowley (1:08:50). Luxembourg’s Joe Kurt completed the podium in a time of 1:09:50.

France’s Gwladys Lemoussu improved on her second place from last year as she crossed the finish line first in the women’s PTS5. Lemoussu (1:18:50) ended over seven minutes ahead of Russia’s Rzaeva Amida (1:26:15), whilst Ukraine’s Svitlana Kirpichova (1:27:05) cross the finish line third.

Another athlete who went one place better than last year was Russia’s Alexandr Ialchik in the men’s PTS5. Ialchik completed the course in a time of 1:06:41, with France’s Maxime Maurel (1:08:36) and Yan Guanter (1:09:25) finishing second and third respectively.

Germany secured three wins in Besancon, with Stefan Loesler, Max Gelhaar and Lena Dieter sealing victories in their respective events.

Loesler pulled clear during the swim in the men’s PTS2, before extending his advantage during the bike and run to earn his first win of the season in a time of 1:16:30. Russia’s Vasily Egorov (1:19:32) and the Netherlands’ Maurits Morsink (1:22:03) completed the podium.

Victory in the men’s PTS3 was earned by Germany’s Max Gelhaar (1:18:42), with France’s Yannick Barbaste (1:46:10) finishing second. There was further German success in the women’s PTVI as Lena Dieter clocked a time of 1:20:28 to win, with France’s Annouck Curzillat (1:29:19) and Ukraine’s Vita Oleksiuk (1:30:43) completing the top-three.

There was victory for Italy’s Federico Sicura in the men’s PTVI class. Only one second separated the Italian and France’s Antoine Perel heading into transition two.

Sicura produced the stronger of the two runs to hold off the challenge of Perel to win in a time of 1:10:34, 24 seconds ahead of Perel (1:10:58). Sicura’s compatriot Manuel Marson (1:13:58) finished third.

Veronica Yoko Plebani won Italy’s second race in Besancon in the women’s PTS2 as she completed the course in a time of 1:49:23.

Click here for the full results

Related Event: 2017 Besancon ITU Paratriathlon World Cup
04 Jun, 2017 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Ahmed Andaloussi H1 FRA 01:13:59
2. Alexandre Paviza H1 FRA 01:15:07
3. Bret Crossley H1 GBR 01:16:51
4. Phil Hogg H1 GBR 01:19:32
5. José Vicente Arzo Diago H2 ESP 01:21:32
Results: PTWC Women
1. Mona Francis H2 FRA 01:48:33
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Stefan Loesler GER 01:16:30
2. Vasilii Egorov RUS 01:19:32
3. Maurits Morsink NED 01:22:03
4. John Fulton GBR 01:29:24
5. Christophe Guerrin FRA 01:29:29
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Veronica Yoko Plebani ITA 01:49:23
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Max Gelhaar GER 01:18:42
2. Yannick Barbaste FRA 01:46:10
Results: PTS3 Women
1. Elise Marc FRA 01:28:35
2. Nora Hansel GER 01:31:12
3. Maike Hausberger GER 01:31:40
4. Marianne Hüche DEN 01:53:03
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 01:07:16
2. Steven Crowley GBR 01:08:50
3. Joe Kurt LUX 01:09:50
4. Omar Bermejo USA 01:12:30
5. Andrey Tolstikov RUS 01:14:47
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Alexandr Ialchik RUS 01:06:41
2. Maxime Maurel FRA 01:08:36
3. Yan Guanter FRA 01:09:25
4. Antoine Besse FRA 01:10:49
5. Aidan McGlynn IRL 01:10:51
Results: PTS5 Women
1. Gwladys Lemoussu FRA 01:18:50
2. Amida Rzaeva RUS 01:26:15
3. Svitlana Kirpichova UKR 01:27:05
4. Caroline O'Leary IRL 01:37:55
5. Sandra Chaleteix FRA 01:42:39
Results: PTVI Men
1. Federico Sicura B2 ITA 01:10:34
2. Antoine Perel B1 FRA 01:10:58
3. Manuel Marson B3 ITA 01:13:58
4. David Rangel Uzcategui B3 VEN 01:18:39
DNF. Vasyl Zakrevskyi B1 UKR DNF
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →