ITU honours paratriathletes on People with Disabilities Day

by Erin Greene on 03 Dec, 2012 03:08 • Español

video placeholder Your video is loading. If the video fails to load please upgrade your Flash player

Highlights from the Paratriathlon World Championships in Auckland

In honour of the United Nation’s International Day of Persons with Disabilities, ITU celebrates its incredible paratriathletes by highlighting their achievements and the sport’s great growth this year.

The 2012 ITU paratriathlon season was one of the most successful to date, which was highlighted with a record 109 paratriathletes at the 2012 World Championships. The number is nearly threefold that of the 2008 World Championships just four years ago.

After the 25th ITU Congress in Auckland, Claire Cunningham (GBR) and Oswald Kydd (RSA) became the first paratriathletes to be elected to the ITU Athlete Committee.

In October, Yannick Bourseaux (FRA) and Melissa Stockwell (USA) were shortlisted to be the International Paralympic Committee Athlete of the Month for their accomplishments at World Championships. Bourseaux won the accolade, while Stockwell was named the United States Olympic Committee Female Athlete of the Month.

Earlier in the year, paratriathlon champions were crowned for the first time at the inaugural stand-alone PATCO continental championships for the Americas. That same week, Ireland held its first ever Paratriathlon National Championships, marking a landmark step in the country’s paratriathlon growth.

Paratriathlon also received a big boost in Australia this year when Triathlon Australia and the Australia Paralympic Committee held a seminar to support paratriathlon programmes ahead of the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Paralympic Games.

ITU would like to congratulate all the paratriathletes for their accomplishments, as well as all National Federations working to grow the sport of paratriathlon. To find out more about paratriathlon, please click here.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2012 Barfoot and Thompson World Triathlon Grand Final Auckland
20 - 22 Oct, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Paratriathlon Female TRI-6
1. Susana Rodriguez B2 ESP 01:02:41
2. Melissa Reid B3 GBR 01:03:20
3. Patricia Walsh B1 USA 01:05:15
4. Charlotte Ellis GBR 01:05:51
5. Joleen Hakker B1 NED 01:08:13
Results: Paratriathlon Female TRI-5
1. Patricia Collins USA 01:11:07
2. Danielle Mclaughlin USA 01:11:32
3. Allysa Seely USA 01:17:43
Results: Paratriathlon Female TRI-4
1. Faye Mcclelland GBR 01:02:33
2. Clare Cunningham GBR 01:04:55
3. Claire Mclean AUS 01:08:36
4. Robin Caruso USA 01:11:52
5. Lauren Steadman GBR 01:15:33
Results: Paratriathlon Female TRI-3
1. Jennifer Hopkins CAN 01:08:28
2. Beth Price USA 01:24:45
3. Miriam Jenkins NZL 01:28:34
Results: Paratriathlon Female TRI-2
1. Melissa Stockwell USA 01:22:14
2. Hailey Danz USA 01:26:54
3. Jennifer Clark USA 01:34:23
Results: Paratriathlon Female TRI-1
1. Karen Darke H1 GBR 01:06:58
2. Jane Egan GBR 01:17:40
3. Elizabeth Mcternan GBR 01:19:31
4. Diana Helt USA 01:24:03
5. Erica Davis USA 01:25:35
Results: 80-84 Male AG Sprint
1. Wayne Fong USA 02:44:13
Results: 75-79 Male AG Sprint
1. John Bennetts AUS 01:42:20
2. Alec Hill NZL 01:44:07
3. Mike Ellis CAN 01:48:09
4. Neil Flemming NZL 01:56:00
5. Frank Pearce AUS 01:56:07
Results: 75-79 Female AG Sprint
1. Judith Barfoot NZL 02:06:48
Results: 70-74 Male AG Sprint
1. Brian Boyle NZL 01:30:41
2. Marshall Wakat USA 01:32:48
3. John Gordon NZL 01:35:58
4. Peter Dwyer AUS 01:36:15
5. Arby Kitzman USA 01:38:25
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →