ITU President joins Olympic Torch Relay in Athens

by Nicola Hargreaves on 18 May, 2012 09:41 • Español
ITU President joins Olympic Torch Relay in Athens

ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado attended the Handing over Ceremony of the Olympic Flame by the Hellenic Olympic Committee (HOC) to the London Organizing Committee of the Olympic Games in the Panathenaic Stadium yesterday in Athens, Greece. Prior to the ceremony Casado took part in the Torch Relay as a Torchbearer.

Since the lighting of the Olympic flame in Olympia on 10 May it has been carried in an eight-day relay across Greece. Casado was among the Torchbearers on the final day of the relay in Greece before it was officially handed over to a London 2012 representative during the early-evening ceremony.

The flame was then flown to the UK where it will undergo a 70-day relay beginning at Land’s End. The flame will travel 8,000 miles around every region of the country before arriving in Stratford’s Olympic Stadium to light the cauldron at the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games on 27 July.

Coinciding with the Handing over Ceremony, Casado also attended the opening of the 18th World Collectors Fair in the historical monument of Zappeion Megaron, the first building in the world to be constructed to serve Olympic needs and synonymous with the Olympic movement. Hosted by the International Olympic Committee and HOC from 17 to 20 May, the fair gathers collectors from all over the world and includes an Olympic Memorabilia Exhibition “Greece and the Olympic Games: 1894 – 2012”.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2012 London Olympic Games
04 - 07 Aug, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Nicola Spirig SUI 01:59:48
2. Lisa Norden SWE 01:59:48
3. Erin Densham AUS 01:59:50
4. Sarah True USA 02:00:00
5. Helen Jenkins GBR 02:00:19
6. Andrea Hewitt NZL 02:00:36
7. Ainhoa Murua Zubizarreta ESP 02:00:56
8. Emma Jackson AUS 02:01:16
9. Jessica Harrison FRA 02:01:22
10. Kate Mcilroy NZL 02:01:28
Results: Elite Men
1. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:46:25
2. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:46:36
3. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:46:56
4. David Hauss FRA 01:47:14
5. Laurent Vidal FRA 01:47:21
6. Jan Frodeno GER 01:47:26
7. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:47:35
8. Sven Riederer SUI 01:47:46
9. Joao Silva POR 01:47:51
10. Alessandro Fabian ITA 01:48:03
Related articles
  • London 2012 Olympic Qualifying Update after San Diego
    It was the penultimate race in the London 2012 Olympic Games official Qualification period, and ITU San Diego saw some Olympic dreams realised and some dashed. Find out more here.
    02:21 - 16 May, 2012
  • ITU completes final London 2012 site visit
    With the London 2012 Olympic Games fast approaching, ITU Technical Delegates for London Thanos Nikopoulos and Leslie Buchanan recently completed the all important final site visit with little over two months before the big event
    04:28 - 11 May, 2012
  • London 2012 - Olympic flame lit at Olympia
    With only 78 days until the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympic Games, the Olympic flame was today lit at Olympia during a ceremony organised by the Hellenic Olympic Committee (HOC)
    05:28 - 10 May, 2012
  • Olympic Qualification 101 – How athletes and countries get to London 2012
    The road to London 2012 is not only long and grueling, it’s also complex. How many athletes can each country send? And how do athletes earn one of the coveted spots on the Olympic start line? We try to explain
    06:44 - 12 Mar, 2012
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →