Kitzbühel Ready To Welcome The World

by ITU Admin on 25 May, 2009 12:01

Kitzbühel, the town of sports offers an unparalleled combination of sports activities and alpine beauty. The wide variety of outdoor sports facilities and numerous major international events make the town the number one holiday destination, year after year.

After two years of hosting an ITU Triathlon World Cup, Kitzbühel was selected as a venue for the new Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series.

The small alpine town will host the event on 9–12 July 2009, alongside the seven other major international cities. In addition to the World Championship races, the weekend will include amateur competition that looks certain to attract large fields with both sprint and Olympic distance race opportunities.

Triathlons in Kitzbühel involve swimming in the beautiful Lake Schwarzsee, cycling against a breathtaking alpine backdrop between Wilder Kaiser mountain and the famous ski slopes of Hahnenkamm, and running through the gentle hills around the lake.

Another highlight will be the Tri Kitz Children’s Triathlon where young triathlon fans can show off their potential.


9 July. Triathlon Team Exhibition in Kitzbühel city centre as part of Kitz Summer Night

11 July. Open Triathlon & Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series men’s race
Triathlon for VIPs/sponsors
Tyrol Triathlon Night

12 July. Children’s triathlon & Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series women’s race

See for more details.

Article tags kitzbuehel
Related Event: 2009 Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series Kitzbuehel
11 - 12 Jul, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:54:38
2. Nicola Spirig SUI 01:55:12
3. Andrea Hewitt NZL 01:55:17
4. Kathy Tremblay CAN 01:55:21
5. Helen Jenkins GBR 01:55:27
6. Yuliya Yelistratova UKR 01:55:28
7. Kate Allen AUT 01:55:29
8. Kate Mcilroy NZL 01:55:32
9. Vendula Frintova CZE 01:55:38
10. Lauren Groves CAN 01:55:47
Results: Elite Men
1. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:43:13
2. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:43:21
3. Laurent Vidal FRA 01:43:24
4. Maik Petzold GER 01:43:36
5. Daniel Unger GER 01:43:51
6. Sven Riederer SUI 01:44:01
7. William Clarke GBR 01:44:05
8. Yulian Malyshev RUS 01:44:05
9. Kris Gemmell NZL 01:44:11
10. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:44:13
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →