Long Distance Champions!

by World Triathlon Admin on 24 Jun, 2007 12:00

Frederik van Lierde from Belgium and Charlotte Kolters from Denmark grabbed the European title on the 2007 Brasschaat ETU Long Distance Triathlon European Championships.

Frederik van Lierde dominated the whole race from the start till the finish. He completed the 3km swim section with a 40 seconds lead over his rivals, including Karel Smet, Thierry Verbinnen (both from Belgium) and Stephan Bayliss of Great Britain. Van Lierde added an other two minutes on his lead in the bike segment as he rode the best time of the day on the second discipline as well and he had a lead of four minutes over the second at this time, Gabriele Pertusati of Italy and five minutes over Bayliss, Jonas Colting of Sweden and other Belgian, Bert Jammaer. This lead was enough for him to secure his first ever European title. Colting finished second with the best running time of the day and Bayliss came on third.

In the women’s race the Danish champion, Charlotte Kotlers was out of the swim first and she did not let this lead taken by any other athletes during the whole race. Tine Deckers of Belgium performed on the bike almost as fast as the men, but she was not fast enough to get close to Kotlers. Hector Alice from Great Britain was 2 minutes behind Deckers after the bike, but caught her during the run. After over 4 hours of competing, they had to decide the on the silver medal in a spectacular sprint finish, where Deckers was the faster.

Related Event: 2007 Brasschaat ETU Long Distance Triathlon European Championships
24 Jun, 2007 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Frederik Van Lierde BEL 03:41:49
2. Jonas Colting SWE 03:42:39
3. Stephen Bayliss GBR 03:43:08
4. Gabriele Pertusati ITA 03:44:14
5. Joseph Gambles GBR 03:47:08
Results: Elite Women
1. Charlotte Kolters DEN 04:10:30
2. Tine Deckers BEL 04:13:01
3. Alice Hector GBR 04:13:02
4. Bella Bayliss GBR 04:14:28
5. Sara Gross GBR 04:14:37
Results: 20-24 Female AG
1. Sara Sig Møller DEN 04:20:19
2. Liis Toomingas EST 04:50:21
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Cédric Largajolli FRA 04:15:55
2. Maximilien Von Berg BEL 04:17:22
3. Tomas Havlicek CZE 04:18:35
4. Dieter De Munck BEL 04:25:46
5. Benjamin Lenoir FRA 04:28:17
Results: 25-29 Female AG
1. Katrin Esefeld GER 04:20:58
2. Anne Halene Jacobsen DEN 04:37:18
3. Caroline Traversi FRA 04:48:46
4. Sarah Lovelock GBR 04:48:59
5. Leanne Upchurch GBR 05:31:41
Results: 25-29 Male AG
1. Joury Gokel BEL 03:57:45
2. Michael Rosu BEL 04:05:13
3. Ben De Wolf BEL 04:05:17
4. Wim Van Linden BEL 04:09:24
5. Florent Albert FRA 04:10:45
Results: 30-34 Female AG
1. Coralie Lemaire BEL 04:36:46
2. Els Van Den Eede BEL 05:11:42
3. Katy Pike GBR 05:19:16
4. Marleen Stroomer NED 05:30:22
5. Karen Rogers GBR 05:50:10
Results: 30-34 Male AG
1. Jerome Hilger-Schütz BEL 03:57:37
2. Kurt Preem BEL 04:00:19
3. Cedric De Caluwe BEL 04:01:22
4. Nick Baelus BEL 04:02:15
5. Marc-Philipp Prins GER 04:03:04
Results: 35-39 Female AG
1. Simone Hakenberg NED 04:42:09
2. Tracey Horne GBR 04:47:12
3. Kai Sachtleber GER 04:51:59
Results: 35-39 Male AG
1. Karel Pardaens BEL 04:00:59
2. Emmanuel Spoiden BEL 04:01:37
3. Kurt Vanhaverbeke BEL 04:04:32
4. Jens Gydesen DEN 04:09:11
5. Peter Robijns BEL 04:11:19
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →