Long Distance Worlds this Sunday

by ITU Admin on 11 Jul, 2007 12:00

This weekend the world’s best long distance triathletes head to northern France for the 2007 Lorient ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships.  The City of Lorient and its Metropolitan district, third urban entity of Brittany host the festival, around the wonderful surroundings of the Ter Lake. These championships will be a race double the Olympic distance – 3 km Swim, 80 km Cycle, and 20 km Run.

Live coverage from Lorient will be available on triathlon.org with text and photos.

Last year’s Long Distance world champion Torbjorn Sindballe of Denmark will be back to defend his title.  He’ll be challenged by a strong men’s field that includes this year’s Duathlon world champion Paul Amey of Great Britain.

In the women’s field, French favourite Johanna Daumas is the only medalist from 2006 to return to contest this year’s championships.  Former ITU short course world champion Leanda Cave of Great Britain will also take the start line aiming for the long distance world title.

The International Triathlon Union has a special relationship with France as the creation of triathlon’s international federation took place in Avignon France in 1989.  France is the home of several Long Distance World Championships in Nice and Long Distance Champions Cyril Neveu 2002, and Isabelle Mouthon 2000. Cyril Neveu will again race in Lorient.

Click here for more information on the 2007 Lorient ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships

Full race details in the Athlete Handbook!

Click here for this weekend’s live coverage from Lorient

Click here for full results from last year’s Long Distance triathlon world championships in Canberra, Australia

Related Event: 2007 Lorient ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships
15 Jul, 2007 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Julien Loy FRA 03:30:11
2. Xavier Le Floch FRA 03:36:19
3. Sebastien Berlier FRA 03:36:41
4. Torbjorn Sindballe DEN 03:37:09
5. Hervé Faure FRA 03:37:28
6. Olivier Marceau SUI 03:38:31
7. Jimmy Johnsen DEN 03:38:36
8. Gabriele Pertusati ITA 03:39:01
9. Reinaldo Colucci BRA 03:39:16
10. Patrick Vernay FRA 03:39:21
Results: Elite Women
1. Leanda Cave GBR 04:04:03
2. Erika Csomor HUN 04:05:20
3. Catriona Morrison GBR 04:05:57
4. Delphine Pelletier FRA 04:06:42
5. Chrissie Wellington GBR 04:07:07
6. Gina Crawford NZL 04:09:29
7. Amy Marsh USA 04:10:38
8. Erin Ford USA 04:12:07
9. Eva Novakova CZE 04:12:32
10. Charlotte Kolters DEN 04:12:50
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Mikel Calahorra Barrutia ESP 04:08:55
2. Michael Martin GBR 04:11:05
3. Cédric Largajolli FRA 04:12:27
4. Michael Lyons IRL 04:16:59
5. Thiago Carvalho BRA 04:17:42
6. Pierre-Yves Gigou CAN 04:19:10
7. Maximilien Von Berg BEL 04:22:03
8. Trevor Delsaut FRA 04:24:29
9. Laurynas Urbsys LTU 04:26:11
10. Jamie Hall GBR 04:28:22
Results: 20-24 Female AG
1. Freya Bloor GBR 04:36:11
2. Anne Basso USA 04:40:55
3. Kristin Hewitt NZL 04:44:10
4. Michelle Digeronimo USA 05:05:13
5. Monica Murphy USA 05:09:02
6. Lindsay Serbousek USA 05:20:15
7. Elizabeth Hoeppner CAN 05:20:25
8. Kathryn Sauer USA 05:20:47
9. Stacey Backstrom USA 05:39:45
10. Joanna Lee GBR 06:05:06
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →