Martin Krnavek and Tania Haiboeck winners at Kitzbühel Triathlon 2006

by World Triathlon Admin on 01 Jul, 2006 12:00

Press release 04/06 – 01 07 06

Martin Krnavek and Tania Haiboeck winners at Kitzbühel Triathlon 2006

After an almost ten-year break, it was time again for the KITZBÜHEL TRIATHLON to attract top-athletes from the international arena. Martin Krnavek (CZE) came in first under the category men elite at the ETU Premium European Cup 2006, 1st place women was won by Tania Haiboeck (AUT).

Thanks to its excellent infrastructure, the ideal competition site and above all the resort’s long years of experience in hosting major sports events, Kitzbühel made the successful bid among the various Austrian applicants so that the world of triathlon returned to Kitzbühel on the first weekend of July 2006.

In a wonderful mountain scenery 42 men and 9 women finished the triathlon race at Olympic distance 1.5 km for swimming, 40 km for cycling and 10 km for running. The triathletes had to swim two 750 m rounds of the idyllic lake, cycle eight 5 km rounds of a demanding biking trail and run four 2.5 km rounds on a very fast out-and-back course. That means the athletes were rarely out of sight from the Schwarzsee leisure center for long, and spectators could enjoy all the excitement at close quarters.

After this successful trial, however, the exact event date for the World Cup in 2007 is still to be confirmed. Due to the preparation work for the Olympic Games in 2008, the Kitzbühel triathlon association is facing a prominent line-up. The vision is to become the top triathlon location in central Europe.

The ranking lists can be found under or

Weitere Infos:

Media: Alexandria Gieringer-Fabi Tel./Mobil.: + 43 (0) 664-5109618
Hinterstadt 18 Tel.: + 43 (0) 5356-77718
6370 Kitzbühel Fax: + 43 (0) 5356-77733

Related Event: 2006 Kitzbuehel ITU Triathlon Premium European Cup
01 Jul, 2006 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Martin Krnavek CZE 01:49:03
2. Helge Muetschard GER 01:49:10
3. Andriy Glushchenko UKR 01:49:17
4. Simon Agoston AUT 01:49:22
5. Marc Jenkins GBR 01:49:29
Results: Elite Women
1. Tania Haiböck AUT 02:03:19
2. Lenka Zemanova CZE 02:03:58
3. Andrea Hansen NZL 02:04:31
4. Lena Brunkhorst GER 02:05:09
5. Tina Herklotz GER 02:06:07
Tracker Pixel for Entry