Para stars deliver brilliant day of racing at WTPS Yokohama as Paris 2024 draws closer

by on 11 May, 2024 01:59 • Español
Para stars deliver brilliant day of racing at WTPS Yokohama as Paris 2024 draws closer

On a beautiful Saturday morning in Yokohama, Japan, some of the biggest names in Para Triathlon hit the city streets with just over 100 days to go to the opening of the Paralympic Games and the hunt for form and points as well as the medals delivered plenty of entertainment for the crowds.

USA’s Chris Hammer was the first Para triathlete crossing the finish line, to claim the title in the PTS5 men’s category, solidifying his designs on a spot at the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games. The American finished in fourth place both in Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020, and is looking to make it a third time lucky in Paris next summer. Second over the line was Stefan Daniel (CAN), who had won here two times before, while Brazil’s Ronan Cordeiro claimed the last spot on the podium.

In the women’s race, Claire Cashmore (GBR) won the PTS5 after Canada’s unfortunate Kamylle Frenette embarked on one lap too many from a leading position to end up taking the silver. Bronze was to Gwladys Lemoussu from France, who crossed some three minutes behind the two leaders.

If there is anyone looking forward to next summer in Paris, it is Alexis Hanquinquant. Five times a World Champion and with one Paralympic gold medal already under his belt, here is a man ready to deliver at home, and WTPS Yokohama proved to be the ideal step on his way to a second. Hanquinquant was accompanied on the podium by his teammate Pierre-Antoine Baele (FRA), who managed to hold off to Nil Riudavets Victory (ESP). The Spaniard, one of the youngest athletes on the circuit, celebrated his first ever podium on the Para Series and positioned himself with a great chance to make the team for Paris 2024.

It was an emotional victory for Kelly Emlinger (USA), still adapting to her new prosthetic but delivering a defiant run that saw her cross the finish line two minutes ahead of Marta Francés Gómez (ESP) in silver. Elke Van Engelen (GER) finished in the third place that gives her solid points on the road to Paris 2024

In the men’s PTS3 it was France’s Michael Herter taking the win. The Frenchman had an impressive gap on the swim that proved enough to hold off Justin Godfrey, from Australia, while behind him Hwang Tae Kim (KOR) pulled off a great performance to claim the bronze medal, that will give him some really valuable points in the pursuit of his Paralympic dreams.

In the women’s race, Anna Plotnikova, a Neutral Independent Athlete, dominated, crossing the finish line almost 15 minutes ahead of Rachel Watts (USA), who claims silver.

Mark Barr (USA) already has his ticket to Paris for next summer, but he added another gold medal to his already extensive collection by delivering a masterclass in Yokohama and take the tape dominantly. Stephane Bahier (FRA) was second on the day, while Australia’s Thomas Goodman rounded up the PTS2 podium.

USA’s Hailey Danz won the women’s title in the PTS2 class, while behind her Anu Francis from Australia claimed the silver medal. Japan’s Yukako Hata delighted the local crowds finishing in the third place, the only medal for Team Japan on the day in Yokohama.

Dave Ellis B3 and Francesca Tarantello B3 won the visually impaired races. In the men’s race, Ellis proved once again that Yokohama is a great race for him, setting the fastest splits on the swim, bike and run segments to claim the victory by almost one minute over Thibaut Rigaudeau (FRA). Only 21 year’s old, Owen Cravens B3 consolidated his Paralympic ranking with the bronze medal, knowing that he already has earned a spot on the USA’s Paralympic team for Paris 2024.

In the women’s race, Tarantello outsprinted Paralympic champion Susana Rodriguez (ESP) down the blue carpet, another edition of what promises to be an epic battle between them in Paris next summer. Ireland’s Chloe MacCombe claimed the bronze medal, one that gives her more solid points on the Paralympic rankings.

It was Australia’s Lauren Parker H1 with the women’s PTWC gold ahead of Leanne Taylor (CAN) and Jessica Ferreira (BRA), who had to go to the photo finish to determine who would claim silver and who was last on the podium, with the Canadian finally getting the second place. Kendall Gretsch H2 was fourth on the day, but the battle with Parker in the lead up to Paris promises to be an intense one as the duo prepares for another massive Paralympic showdown,

In the men’s race, Geert Schipper H2 scored the men’s gold to follow up his world title win in Pontevedra last year. Only Florian Brungraber (AUT) was able to grab the silver medal, while the bronze went to Louis Noel (FRA), whom climbed to 9th place in the Paralympic rankings with today’s race.

For the full results, click here.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2024 World Triathlon Para Series Yokohama
11 May, 2024 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Geert Schipper H2 NED 00:57:38
2. Florian Brungraber H2 AUT 00:58:18
3. Louis Noel H2 FRA 01:01:51
4. Nic Beveridge H1 AUS 01:02:09
5. Fathi Zwoukhi H1 TUN 01:02:53
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Mark Barr USA 01:06:26
2. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:08:17
3. Thomas Goodman AUS 01:14:47
4. Glen Jarvis AUS 01:16:47
5. Geoffrey Wersy FRA 01:18:01
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Michael Herter FRA 01:12:43
2. Justin Godfrey AUS 01:13:26
3. Hwang Tae Kim KOR 01:13:39
4. Flip Breuer NED 01:15:15
5. Kini Carrasco ESP 01:19:44
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 00:57:25
2. Pierre-Antoine Baele FRA 00:58:54
3. Nil Riudavets Victory ESP 00:59:22
4. Carson Clough USA 00:59:43
5. Jeremy Peacock AUS 01:01:29
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Chris Hammer USA 00:56:25
2. Stefan Daniel CAN 00:56:30
3. Ronan Cordeiro BRA 00:56:53
4. Bence Mocsari HUN 00:57:12
5. Jack Howell AUS 00:57:46
Results: PTVI Men
1. Dave Ellis B3 GBR 00:56:25
2. Thibaut Rigaudeau B3 FRA 00:57:22
3. Owen Cravens B3 USA 00:57:37
4. Oscar Kelly B3 GBR 00:57:53
5. Kyle Coon B1 USA 00:58:30
Results: PTWC Women
1. Lauren Parker H1 AUS 01:03:36
4. Kendall Gretsch H2 USA 01:05:40
3. Jessica Ferreira H1 BRA 01:05:02
2. Leanne Taylor H1 CAN 01:05:01
7. Mona Francis H2 FRA 01:11:21
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Hailey Danz USA 01:13:24
2. Anu Francis AUS 01:14:44
3. Yukako Hata JPN 01:19:05
4. Veronica Yoko Plebani ITA 01:20:00
5. Rakel Mateo Uriarte ESP 01:31:26
Results: PTS3 Women
1. Anna Plotnikova AIN 01:17:02
2. Rachel Watts USA 01:32:51
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Kelly Elmlinger USA 01:10:52
2. Marta Francés Gómez ESP 01:12:52
3. Elke Van Engelen GER 01:14:47
4. Sally Pilbeam AUS 01:14:50
5. Mami Tani JPN 01:15:03
Tracker Pixel for Entry