Paralympic champions shine under the rain in WTPS Yokohama

by Olalla Cernuda on 14 May, 2022 04:35 • Español
Paralympic champions shine under the rain in WTPS Yokohama

Over 50 Para triathletes from all over the world showed a display of grit and determination to complete the World Triathlon Para Series Yokohama under a heavy rain that showed Paralympic medallists like Susana Rodriguez (ESP), Alexis Hanquinquant (FRA), Grace Norman (USA), George Peasgood (GBR)  or Hideki Uda (JPN), are still in great form and ready for the next Paralympic cycle.

Australian Nick Beveridge traveled to Yokohama with his first ever WTPS podium on sight and he did deliver. The Aussie had a perfect comeback to the World Triathlon circuit, crossing the finish line in the first place, ahead of local favourite Jumpei Kimura and Howei Sanborm (USA). On the women’s side, it was Margret Ijdema (NED) the fastest on the day, finishing over two minutes ahead of Canadian Leanne Taylor H1 and the rising star of this category, Brazilian Jessica Ferreira, who only managed to finish in third place after her second position in this same race last year.

The PTS2 men saw experienced Spaniard Lionel Morales winning the battle against Mohamed Lahna (USA) while Melissa Stockwell was the sole female in the category.

It was another hugely experienced athlete, Australian Justin Godfrey, who took the tape in Yokohama, followed by Spaniard Kini Carrasco.

Frenchman Alexis Hanquinquant was once again unbeatable in Yokohama, even under the heavy rain. The current World and Paralympic champion had to fight hard to get away from his teammate Pierre-Antoine Baele, who had the performance of his life to take silver, while another usual in the PTS4 podium, Tokyo 2020 silver medallist Hideki Uda (JPN), took the bronze.

On the women’s side,  USA’s Kelly Worrell was the one taking the tape to beat Spaniard Carmen Gonzalez Sanchez, impressive on her debut in the circuit.

In the women’s PTS5 race, the USA’s Rio 2016 Olympic Champion and Tokyo 2020 silver medallist Grace Norman showed that she is one of the best para triathletes in the world with another great performance in Yokohama, enough to beat Ukraine’s Alisa Kolpakchy by over twelve minutes. On the men’s side, the Paralympic silver medalist George Peasgood (GBR) was untreatable, leading in the most contended category from begining to end. Silver was for the Brazilian Ronan Cordeiro, while young Hungarian Bence Mocsari took the bronze.

The women’s PTVI race saw Paralympic Champion Susana Rodriguez B1 showing once again a great shape to beat 2019 Worlds bronze medallist Jessica Tuomela B1. The deep men’s field saw Paralympic champion Kyle Coon B1 (USA) showing that he is ready for another great year. Second on the finish line was the youngest athlete of the field, USA’s Owen Craven only 18 years old, while bronze medal was for Spaniard Jose Luis Garcia Serrano.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2022 World Triathlon Para Series Yokohama
14 May, 2022 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Nic Beveridge H1 AUS 01:04:05
2. Jumpei Kimura H1 JPN 01:04:07
3. Howie Sanborn H1 USA 01:06:04
4. Brendan Bischoff H2 NED 01:11:27
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Lionel Morales ESP 01:09:47
2. Mohamed Lahna USA 01:12:43
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Justin Godfrey AUS 01:15:38
2. Kini Carrasco ESP 01:23:47
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 00:59:02
2. Pierre-Antoine Baele FRA 01:00:49
3. Hideki Uda JPN 01:01:05
4. Jeremy Peacock AUS 01:01:59
5. Jorge Luis Fonseca BRA 01:04:04
Results: PTS5 Men
1. George Peasgood GBR 00:57:24
2. Ronan Cordeiro BRA 00:58:01
3. Bence Mocsari HUN 00:59:11
4. David Bryant AUS 00:59:15
5. Antoine Besse FRA 01:01:12
Results: PTVI Men
1. Kyle Coon B1 USA 01:00:10
2. Owen Cravens B3 USA 01:00:38
3. Jose Luis García Serrano B1 ESP 01:01:32
4. Anatolii Varfolomieiev B1 UKR 01:02:11
5. Yosuke Yamada B3 JPN 01:03:25
Results: PTWC Women
1. Margret Ijdema H1 NED 01:11:33
2. Leanne Taylor H1 CAN 01:13:26
3. Jessica Ferreira H1 BRA 01:13:49
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Melissa Stockwell USA 01:19:11
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Kelly Worrell USA 01:25:30
2. Carmen Gonzalez Sanchez ESP 01:25:49
Results: PTS5 Women
1. Grace Norman USA 01:02:50
2. Alisa Kolpakchy UKR 01:15:06
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →