Paratriathletes seek qualification points in Besancon

by Adam Bailey for the IPC on 18 Jun, 2016 10:29 • Español

By Megan Mindel | For the IPC

The sixth and final World Para Triathlon Event (WPE) of the year will commence on Sunday (19 June) in Besancon, France. For athletes still seeking tickets to the Rio 2016 Paralympics, Sunday’s competition is one of the last events to earn qualification points, as the deadline to do so is 30 June. Due to strong currents the Bescancon Paratriathlon moved to a duathlon format 2.5km + 20km + 5km. In accordance with ITU rules, 75% of Paralympics qualification points will be on offer.

Here are the athletes to watch for in each class:

The USA’s world No. 1 Krige Schubert will be participating in his second World Para Triathlon Event (WPE) in 2016. He will face tough opposition from Netherlands’ No. 4 Geert Schipper. Italy’s Giovanni Achenza and Great Britain’s Joseph Townsend will also be pushing for gold.

The class will have strong contenders from the host nation.

France’s world No. 2 Stephane Bahier finished second at last month’s European Championships and will be the favourite for gold in Besancon. Germany’s Stefan Loesler and Italy’s Giovanni Sasso are capable of causing an upset, though.

In the women’s race, France’s world No. 3 Elise Marc seeks to outperform the USA’s world No. 1 Hailey Danisewicz and No. 4 Melissa Stockwell. Marc has already enjoyed two wins this year at the Buffalo City World Para Triathlon Event and the European Championships. Danisewicz and Stockwell will be looking for their first victories in 2016.

On paper, the men’s PT3 race should be a tight contest between Spain’s No. 11 Joaquin Carrasco and Brazil’s No. 10 Leonardo Curvelo. But Kyrgyzstan’s Nurbek Toichubaev will also be a threat.

Germany’s No. 3 ranked Nora Hansel has remained undefeated throughout 2016 and is hoping to extend that winning streak in Besancon. But France’s No. 10 Manon Genest can also shake up the podium.

French favourite Yannick Bourseaux is expected to top the men’s PT4. But teammate Maxime Maurel and Japan’s No. 7 Keiichi Sato are expected to push the pace for Bourseaux.

Great Britain’s No. 2 Faye McClelland is hoping to edge out home favourite No. 6 Gwaldys Lemoussu at the finish line.

Great Britain’s No. 1 Alison Patrick is looking for her third win in the series this year. Japan’s Asian champion Atsuko Yamada and the Netherlands’ No. 5 Joleen Hakker will be ready for the challenge too.

South Africa’s David Jones, France’s Arnaud Grandjean and Italy’s Manuel Marson will battle in the men’s race for the top of the podium.

Only the men’s PT1, PT2 and PT4 and the women’s PT2, PT4 and PT5 will be contested in Rio 2016.

More information on the 2016 Besançon International Triathlon union (ITU) World Para Triathlon Event can be found on the ITU’s website.

Related Event: 2016 Besançon ITU World Paratriathlon Event
19 Jun, 2016 • event pageall results
Results: Men's PT1
1. Geert Schipper H2 NED 00:56:05
2. Krige Schabort USA 00:56:53
3. Joseph Townsend H2 GBR 00:57:03
4. Ahmed Andaloussi H1 FRA 01:03:03
5. Benjamin Lenatz H1 GER 01:04:01
Results: Men's PT2
1. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:08:48
2. Geoffrey Wersy FRA 01:09:28
3. Stefan Loesler GER 01:12:26
4. Christophe Guerrin FRA 01:17:24
5. Alberto Almeida Arciniegas COL 01:18:27
Results: Men's PT3
1. Tojo Lazzari IRL 01:06:00
2. Kini Carrasco ESP 01:08:35
3. Nurbek Toichubaev KGZ 01:13:03
DSQ. Leonardo Curvelo BRA DSQ
Results: Men's PT4
1. Yannick Bourseaux FRA 00:58:27
2. Aleksandr Ialchik AIN 00:58:53
3. David Hill GBR 00:59:35
4. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 00:59:48
5. Joshua Kassulke AUS 00:59:52
Results: Men's PT5
1. Arnaud Grandjean B3 FRA 00:59:09
2. Manuel Marson B3 ITA 01:01:41
3. David Jones B1 RSA 01:10:39
Results: Women's PT2
1. Elise Marc FRA 01:20:18
2. Hailey Danz USA 01:25:57
3. Shahrzad Kiavash SWE 01:32:29
Results: Women's PT3
1. Manon Genest FRA 01:13:39
2. Nora Hansel GER 01:22:49
Results: Women's PT4
1. Faye McClelland GBR 01:08:32
2. Gwladys Lemoussu FRA 01:10:03
3. Kerry Large GBR 01:15:06
4. Patricia Collins USA 01:23:33
Results: Women's PT5
1. Catherine Walsh B3 IRL 01:09:08
2. Joleen Hakker B1 NED 01:09:50
3. Lena Dieter B1 GER 01:10:25
4. Zsófia Lengyel B2 HUN 01:11:53
5. Annouck Curzillat B1 FRA 01:18:55
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →