Plat, Cashmore, Curzillat in control at World Triathlon Para Cup Besancon

by on 17 Jun, 2024 09:43 • Español
Plat, Cashmore, Curzillat in control at World Triathlon Para Cup Besancon

The final World Triathlon Para Cup of the Paris 2024 Qualification Period took place in Besancon, France on Saturday, leaving just two Para Series events to come that will decide the final standings for the Paralympic Games on 1-2 September.

As well as the familiar sight of Netherlands’ Jetze Plat H2 taking the men’s PTWC tape in typically assured fashion, there were home wins for Jules Ribstein (PTS2), Alexis Hanquinquant (PTS4), Annouck Curzillat B1 (PTVI) and Elise Marc (PTS3)

Athletes in the top nine of the rankings in all but the women’s PTS3 (the top 5 of which will class up to the PTS4) are guaranteed a start, up to a maximum of two athletes per country. A further 16 invitational places will be awarded after the qualification deadline.

Saturday’s victory for Allysa Seely in the women’s PTS2 class now leaves her in fourth place in the rankings but now just five points separate Seely and the second-placed American Melissa Stockwell and eyeing another big result in Swansea at the weekend. Silver went to Cecile Saboureau of France, Emma Juaisca Rodriguez Rodriguez (VEN) with bronze.

In the men’s PTS2 it was three excellent segments from Ribstein that saw him taking the tape by three minutes from compatriot Geoffrey Wersy who stands 9th in the rankings, Belgium’s Wim de Paepe the bronze

It was Germany’s Max Gelhaar with the men’s PTS3 gold ahead of French pair Cedric Denuziere and Michael Herter, all safely inside the rankings top 10, Elise Marc (FRA), Sanne Koopman (NED) and Rachel Watts (USA) with the gold, silver and bronze in the women’s race.

Britain’s former World Champion Claire Cashmore continued her march back to top form with a comprehensive PTS5 win ahead of Gwladys Lemoussu (FRA) and Laura-Liis Juursala, bronze for the Estonian lifting her to 13th in the rankings. The men’s race saw Germany’s two-time Paralympic champion Martin Schulz take the gold, although he was pushed close by Australia’s David Bryant and Tom Williamson, the in-form Irish newcomer who is closing in on a potential Paralympic debut thanks to four successive Para Cup podiums.

Netherlands’ Jetze Plat H2 couldn’t be caught in the men’s PTWC, crossing the line more than four minutes ahead of Florian Brungraber H2 (AUT) and Giuseppe Romele H1 (ITA), the Italian now within 26 points of the safety of the top nine as he heads to Swansea. In the women’s race, Margret Ijdema H1 (NED) won gold from Elise Laurent H2 (FRA), the Dutch Paris hopeful up to 10th in the rankings as a result.

In the visually impaired class, Annouck Curzillat B1 topped a French podium sweep, Heloise Courvoisier B3 running out of course as she closed in on her teammate for silver, Fanny Bourdelas B3 with bronze. In the men’s race, Dave Ellis B3 was once again victorious as he leaves no stone unturned in his quest for a debut Paralympic gold, French pair Antoine Perel B1 and Thibaut Rigaudeau B3 with silver and bronze.

Related Event: 2024 World Triathlon Para Cup Besancon
15 Jun, 2024 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 00:58:54
2. Florian Brungraber H2 AUT 01:03:08
3. Giuseppe Romele H1 ITA 01:05:51
4. Louis Noel H2 FRA 01:07:35
5. Etienne Debarre H2 FRA 01:16:48
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Jules Ribstein FRA 01:12:01
2. Geoffrey Wersy FRA 01:15:04
3. Wim De Paepe BEL 01:15:22
4. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:16:26
5. Gianluca Valori ITA 01:17:43
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Max Gelhaar GER 01:11:55
2. Cedric Denuziere FRA 01:14:12
3. Michael Herter FRA 01:21:25
4. Jonathan Deleidi FRA 01:23:11
5. Giovanni Sciaccaluga ITA 01:23:37
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 01:00:58
2. Gregoire Berthon FRA 01:03:24
3. Pierre-Antoine Baele FRA 01:04:03
4. Antoîne Lamarche Poulain FRA 01:08:50
5. Jorge Luis Fonseca BRA 01:09:12
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Martin Schulz GER 01:01:58
2. David Bryant AUS 01:02:57
3. Tom Williamson IRL 01:03:15
4. Ugurcan Ozer TUR 01:03:38
5. Jairo Ruiz Lopez ESP 01:04:10
Results: PTVI Men
1. Dave Ellis B3 GBR 01:00:35
2. Antoine Perel B1 FRA 01:01:08
3. Thibaut Rigaudeau B3 FRA 01:01:43
4. Owen Cravens B3 USA 01:02:16
5. Maxime Gayet B2 FRA 01:04:53
Results: PTWC Women
1. Margret Ijdema H1 NED 01:29:26
2. Elise Laurent H2 FRA 01:49:13
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Allysa Seely USA 01:24:13
2. Cécile Saboureau FRA 01:28:23
3. Emma Juaisca Rodriguez Rodriguez VEN 01:30:15
Results: PTS3 Women
1. Elise Marc FRA 01:19:36
2. Sanne Koopman NED 01:38:36
3. Rachel Watts USA 01:41:20
4. Liina Nuoranne FIN 01:50:06
5. Coline Grabinski FRA 02:02:20
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Elke Van Engelen GER 01:23:36
2. Kirsty Weir RSA 01:28:00
3. Ingrid De Oude NED 01:34:14
DSQ. Atalia Nevo ISR DSQ
Tracker Pixel for Entry