Reigning Junior World Champions return to reclaim titles in Rotterdam

by Chelsea White on 13 Sep, 2017 11:41 • Español
Reigning Junior World Champions return to reclaim titles in Rotterdam

The 2017 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Rotterdam will welcome the future of the sport of triathlon as the Junior World Champions will be crowned. With many names in the start list that have already gotten a taste of some elite action, the strength of the junior fields prove that the future of triathlon is bright and will only continue to improve in the years to come. Both of the men’s and women’s junior world champions from 2016 have returned to reclaim their titles, but the crown is anyone’s for the taking.

Battling on a sprint distance course, where the juniors will see a 750-metre one lap swim, 20-kilometre four lap bike and five-kilometre two lap run. The women will start on Friday, September 15 with a start time of 15:00, while the men will compete the following day on Saturday, September 16 with a 08:00am local start time. A live finish-line stream will be available to watch on and on the World Triathlon Facebook page, along with following along with play-by-play updates on Twitter @triathlonlive.

Men’s Preview
USA’s Austin Hindman returns as the 2016 Junior World Champion to reclaim his crown. Last year he had a dominating performance in Cozumel to earn the gold, collecting his first major ITU title in his career. Since then he has competed mainly in CAMTRI and national events, but he did debut in his first WTS race of his career in Edmonton this year.

However, wearing the number one on the start list is Aussie Matthew Hauser. He has had a fantastic 2017 season, he won the Chengdu World Cup, earning his first World Cup victory of his career. He also was a part of the Australian Team Mixed Relay that earned the World Championship title, so a win from Hauser in Rotterdam will give him his second World Title of the year.

Kiwi Daniel Hoy first got his name in headlines in 2014 when he earned the silver medal in the Nanjing Youth Olympic Games in a sprint finish. In Oceania competitions he has had many successes, but over the years his improvement on the ITU World Cup and WTS stage has been evident. This year he earned a 12th place finish in WTS Gold Coast, a very strong finish for a junior-aged competitor. He also just missed out on the Junior World Championship podium last year by finishing fourth, so he will want to finally step up with a medal this year.

The man that beat out Hoy in the Youth Olympic Games sprint finish was Great Britain’s Ben Dijkstra. He also made the Junior World Championship podium last year with the bronze medal. He has not raced in many races however this year, but is a rising star for the men’s British team and has a strong chance of returning to the podium this year.

Mexico’s Abraham Rodriguez Moreno is among the top of the men’s start list. He has been a strong talent in the junior CAMTRI competition scene and finished in the top ten in Cozumel last year for the junior race.

Click here for the full men’s start list

Women’s Preview
On the women’s side, Taylor Knibb (USA) will also be returning to reclaim her 2016 Junior World Championship title that she earned last year in Cozumel. Knibb is one of USA’s top rising talents for the women’s team. She made known to the world her biking skills last year when she kept up in a breakaway with Flora Duffy in a world cup race. She then showcased that talent once again, when in WTS Edmonton she found herself riding alongside Duffy in a similar breakaway situation. She then landed herself the silver medal in Edmonton and became the youngest woman in ITU history to get on the WTS podium. She definitely is the frontrunner to win the junior title in Rotterdam.

Russia’s Ekaterina Matiukh finished in the top ten in the junior field last year in Cozumel and since then has competed on the ETU triathlon market and could be a strong talent to get onto the podium.

Fuka Sega and Chisaki Matsui of Japan will be representing a tough national presence. Sega had an eighth place finish in the Cagliari World Cup, proving she can compete at the elite level, while Matsui competes regularly in Asian Cups, but will need to showcase her talent on the international stage.

Korea’s Hye Rim Jeong collected the bronze medal in the Junior World Championships last year in Cozumel, a huge success for the nation of Korea. She returns to get onto the podium once again, while

Click here for the full women’s start list

Article gallery
Related Event: 2017 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Rotterdam
14 - 17 Sep, 2017 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
3. Mario Mola ESP 01:51:36
4. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:51:41
6. Richard Murray RSA 01:52:06
11. Fernando Alarza ESP 01:52:52
2. Kristian Blummenfelt NOR 01:51:28
Results: Elite Women
1. Flora Duffy BER 01:58:39
2. Katie Zaferes USA 01:59:34
3. Jessica Learmonth GBR 02:00:57
4. Kirsten Kasper USA 02:01:29
5. Joanna Brown CAN 02:01:47
Results: U23 Men
1. Raphael Montoya FRA 01:51:28
2. Dorian Coninx FRA 01:51:32
3. Luke Willian AUS 01:51:48
4. Shachar Sagiv ISR 01:51:59
5. Antonio Serrat Seoane ESP 01:52:22
Results: U23 Women
1. Tamara Gorman USA 02:05:21
2. Melanie Santos POR 02:05:37
3. Sophie Coldwell GBR 02:05:51
4. Georgia Taylor-Brown GBR 02:06:16
5. Julie Derron SUI 02:06:34
Results: Junior Men
1. Matthew Hauser AUS 00:55:54
2. Vasco Vilaca POR 00:56:22
3. Ben Dijkstra GBR 00:56:35
4. James Chantler-Mayne GBR 00:56:41
5. Vetle Bergsvik Thorn NOR 00:56:43
Results: Junior Women
1. Taylor Knibb USA 01:01:22
2. Kate Waugh GBR 01:01:38
3. Fuka Sega JPN 01:02:05
4. Therese Feuersinger AUT 01:02:24
5. Hannah Knighton NZL 01:02:24
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 01:02:18
2. Geert Schipper H2 NED 01:04:27
3. Joseph Townsend H2 GBR 01:10:37
4. Nic Beveridge H1 AUS 01:10:44
5. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:11:36
Results: PTWC Women
1. Emily Tapp H1 AUS 01:20:28
2. Jade Hall H2 GBR 01:21:26
3. Eva María Moral Pedrero H1 ESP 01:24:12
4. Ahalya Lettenberger H2 USA 01:26:57
5. Margret Ijdema H1 NED 01:29:59
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Andrew Lewis GBR 01:09:55
2. Mark Barr USA 01:11:09
3. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:11:18
4. Mohamed Lahna USA 01:11:21
5. Stefan Loesler GER 01:13:12
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Liisa Lilja FIN 01:23:30
2. Allysa Seely USA 01:24:50
3. Fran Brown GBR 01:25:09
4. Hailey Danz USA 01:25:57
5. Rakel Mateo Uriarte ESP 01:27:40
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →