Schulz wins Para Triathlon European title

by Adam Bailey for the IPC on 31 May, 2016 04:52 • Español

By Megan Mindel | For the IPC

In only his second race of the season, Germany’s Martin Schulz still proved he is a top contender in Rio 2016, winning the men’s PT4 race at the Lisbon European Triathlon Union (ETU) Para Triathlon European Championships on Friday (27 May) in Portugal.

Athletes from Great Britain also had a strong showing, winning four of 10 events.

Two-time world champion Schulz (59:54) had a lead of almost two minutes in his victory.

Sixteen seconds separated second and third. Spain’s Jairo Ruiz Lopez (1:01:39) took the silver, followed by French veteran Yannick Bourseaux (1:01:55).

Current world champion and top contender for Paralympic gold, Lauren Steadman, took the gold with a time of 1:09:02.

The British athlete finished ahead of teammate Faye McClellan (1:11:59) and France’s Gwladys Lemoussu (1:12:01).

The Netherlands’ Jetze Plat and Geert Schipper took gold and silver, respectively. Plat (57:52) secured his third European championship in three years; teammate Schipper (1:01:48) followed in second.

The Dutch duo spoiled a one-two finish from top British contenders Joseph Townsend (1:02:47) and Phil Hogg (1:06:22), who finished third and fifth respectively.

Great Britain’s 2015 national champion Lizzie Tench (1:24:22) won her first European Championship with a substantial lead over Spain’s runner-up Eva Maria Moral Peddler (1:27:59) and Ireland’s newcomer Fiona McCormack (1:45:19).

Italy’s two-time European champion and current world No. 1 Michele Ferrarin fell short of the win. Less than 90 seconds separated first from third, with Great Britain’s Andrew Lewis taking the gold (1:10:09), France’s Stephane Bahier (1:11:07) with the silver and Ferrarin with the bronze (1:11:46).

It was Lewis’ first European Championship win and comes after he was named to the British Elite Para Triathlon squad in March.

After tough showings at the European Championships in 2014 and 2015, France’s Elise Marc - who was disqualified in 2014 and did not finish in 2015 - got redemption with her first victory this year. Marc (1:25:37) had a strong showing against Finland’s runner-up Liisa Lilja (1:27:47) and Russian bronze medallist Veronika Gabitova (1:32:59).

The men’s race featured a battle among the top three athletes in the world rankings. Spain’s No. 2 Alejandro Sanchez Palomero won his second consecutive European Championship (1:07:44), defeating Russia’s Denis Kungurtcev (1:08:35) and Austria’s No. 1 Oliver Dreier (1:10:15).

Defending champion Nora Hansel (1:26:44) gave Germany another gold medal by winning her race. Russia’s Anna Plotnikova (1:34:34) finished second.

Ukraine’s reigning European champion Vasyl Zakrevskyi (1:06:46) finished 13 seconds behind Spanish winner Hector Catala Lappara (1:06:23). Frenchman Arnaud Grandjean (1:08:36) came in third.

Great Britain’s women’s duo of Alison Patrick (1:10:18) and Melissa Reid (1:11:58) took first and second, respectively. Spain’s Susana Rodriguez (1:13:49) completed the podium.

Complete results from the Para Triathlon European Championships can be found on the International Triathlon Union’s website.

Para triathlon will debut in Rio 2016 and will feature races in the men’s PT1, 2, and 4 and women’s PT2, 4, and 5.

Related Event: 2016 Lisbon ETU Triathlon European Championships
26 - 29 May, 2016 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:49:30
2. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:50:09
3. Andrea Salvisberg SUI 01:50:32
4. Alessandro Fabian ITA 01:50:37
5. Igor Polyanskiy RUS 01:50:38
Results: Elite Women
1. India Lee GBR 02:04:03
2. Yuliya Yelistratova UKR 02:04:19
3. Zsófia Kovács HUN 02:04:24
4. Vendula Frintova CZE 02:04:40
5. Anne Haug GER 02:04:45
Results: Junior Men
1. Javier Lluch Perez ESP 00:58:03
2. Samuel Dickinson GBR 00:58:04
3. Emil Deleuran Hansen DEN 00:58:08
4. Vasco Vilaca POR 00:58:12
5. Alex Yee GBR 00:58:18
Results: Junior Women
1. Cassandre Beaugrand FRA 01:02:42
2. Lisa Tertsch GER 01:02:54
3. Lena Meißner GER 01:03:14
4. Ines Santiago Moron ESP 01:03:26
5. Emilie Morier FRA 01:03:51
Results: Men's PT1
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 00:57:52
2. Geert Schipper H2 NED 01:01:48
3. Joseph Townsend H2 GBR 01:02:47
4. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:04:09
5. Phil Hogg H1 GBR 01:06:22
Results: Men's PT2
1. Andrew Lewis GBR 01:10:19
2. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:11:07
3. Michele Ferrarin ITA 01:11:46
4. Lionel Morales ESP 01:13:56
5. Stefan Loesler GER 01:15:04
Results: Men's PT3
1. Alejandro Sánchez Palomero ESP 01:07:44
2. Denis Kungurtsev RUS 01:08:35
3. Oliver Dreier AUT 01:10:15
4. Vasilii Egorov RUS 01:11:53
5. Tojo Lazzari IRL 01:20:31
Results: Men's PT4
1. Martin Schulz GER 00:59:54
2. Jairo Ruiz Lopez ESP 01:01:39
3. Yannick Bourseaux FRA 01:01:55
4. Aleksandr Ialchik RUS 01:02:26
5. George Peasgood GBR 01:03:25
Results: Men's PT5
1. Héctor Catalá Laparra B2 ESP 01:06:23
2. Vasyl Zakrevskyi B1 UKR 01:06:36
3. Arnaud Grandjean B3 FRA 01:08:36
4. Daniel Llambrich Gabriel B2 ESP 01:08:48
5. Federico Sicura B2 ITA 01:08:58
Results: Women's PT1
1. Lizzie Tench H2 GBR 01:24:22
2. Eva María Moral Pedrero H1 ESP 01:27:59
3. Fiona Mccormack H2 IRL 01:45:19
DNF. Romy Pansters NED DNF
Tracker Pixel for Entry