Steadman follows Euro gold with win in Strathclyde

by Adam Bailey for the IPC on 06 Jun, 2016 03:08 • Español

Great Britain’s Lauren Steadman secured her second victory in as many weeks, with a top finish in the women’s PT4 division at the Strathclyde International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Para Triathlon Event (WPE) on Sunday (5 June).

Reigning world champion Steadman (1:09:55), who was coming off a victory at the European Championships in late May, topped an all-British podium in front of a home crowd. Teammates Kerry Large (1:16:28) and Ruth Wilson (1:19:58) took home the silver and bronze medals, respectively.

Other highlights from Sunday’s competition included:


The USA’s Chris Hammer (1:00:20) got his second win for the year in the men’s PT4 race thanks to a strong performance in the running segment, being three minutes faster than the 17-man PT4 field.

France’s Maxime Maurel (1:02:57) came in second, followed by Great Britain’s David Hill (1:03:14).


The Dutch duo of Jetze Plat (58:21) and Geert Schipper (1:04:51) had a one-two finish. Plat showed strong form coming off of his third European Championship title from Lisbon, Portugal. Great Britain’s Phil Hogg (1:10:50) finished third, capturing his second podium finish of 2016.

Lizzie Tench and Fiona McCormack had a rematch from the European Championship, with 2016 regional champion Tench (1:29:21) dominating European bronze medallist McCormack (1:51:11).


France’s Geoffrey Wersey (1:15:00) took his first WPE victory of the season, finishing just over a minute ahead of Spain’s runner-up Lionel Morales (1:16:13). Italy’s Giovanni Sasso (1:19:01) came in third.

In the women’s category, the USA’s Sarah Reinersten (1:32:24) won her third WPE title of 2016, with previous victories from Penrith, Australia, and Aguilas, Spain. Sweden’s Shahrzad Kiavash (1:33:49) took the silver.


After finishing third in the Europeans last week, Austrian and world No. 1 Oliver Dreier (1:08:15) responded with gold in Strathclyde. Japan’s Hideki Uda (1:10:42) came in second, and Ireland’s Tojo Lazzari (1:16:55) rounded off the podium.

Germany’s European champion Nora Hansel was the lone racer in the women’s PT3 race, clocking 1:27:48.


Spain’s Jose Luis Garcia Serrano won the men’s race in 1:08:48. This was Serrano’s first WPE win of the 2016 season after two previous second-place finishes from Buffalo City, South Africa, and Penrith.

Four minutes separated the first and third-place finishers in the women’s race. Despite slower times in the swimming and running segments, Ireland’s Catherine Walsh (1:19:05) won the gold thanks to her biking time. She bested Canada’s Christine Robbins (1:20:25) and Japan’s Astute Yamada (1:23:35).

Complete results from the Strathclyde ITU World Para Triathlon Event are available here.

The race in Strathclyde was the penultimate event of the WPE series, with the final competition taking place on 19 June Besancon, France. The deadline for Para triathletes to garner qualification points for Rio 2016 is 30 June.

Related Event: 2016 Strathclyde ITU World Paratriathlon Event
05 Jun, 2016 • event pageall results
Results: Men's PT1
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 00:58:21
2. Geert Schipper H2 NED 01:04:51
3. Phil Hogg H1 GBR 01:10:50
4. Mark Conway H1 GBR 01:16:38
5. Anton Swanepoel H2 RSA 01:17:10
Results: Men's PT2
1. Geoffrey Wersy FRA 01:15:00
2. Lionel Morales ESP 01:16:13
3. Giovanni Sasso ITA 01:19:01
4. Juan Manuel Geny ARG 01:25:41
5. Rajesh Durbal USA 01:26:58
Results: Men's PT3
1. Oliver Dreier AUT 01:08:15
2. Hideki Uda JPN 01:10:42
3. Tojo Lazzari IRL 01:16:55
4. Garrett Turbett IRL 01:23:41
DNF. Rihards Sprincis LAT DNF
Results: Men's PT4
1. Chris Hammer USA 01:00:20
2. Maxime Maurel FRA 01:02:57
3. David Hill GBR 01:03:14
4. Aidan McGlynn IRL 01:04:02
5. Carlos Rafael Viana BRA 01:04:53
Results: Men's PT5
1. Jose Luis García Serrano B1 ESP 01:08:48
2. Iain Dawson B3 GBR 01:12:17
Results: Women's PT1
1. Lizzie Tench H2 GBR 01:29:21
2. Fiona Mccormack H2 IRL 01:51:11
Results: Women's PT2
1. Sarah Reinertsen USA 01:32:24
2. Shahrzad Kiavash SWE 01:33:49
DNF. Kimberly Fawcett-Smith CAN DNF
Results: Women's PT3
1. Nora Hansel GER 01:27:48
Results: Women's PT4
1. Lauren Steadman GBR 01:09:55
2. Kerry Large GBR 01:16:28
3. Ruth Wilson GBR 01:19:58
4. Patricia Collins USA 01:24:09
Results: Women's PT5
1. Catherine Walsh B3 IRL 01:19:05
2. Christine Robbins B3 CAN 01:20:25
3. Atsuko Maruo B2 JPN 01:23:35
Tracker Pixel for Entry