Welcome to Kusadasi

by ITU Admin on 05 Jun, 2007 12:00

Welcome to Kusadasi, one of Turkey’s principle holiday resorts. The ITU Triathlon European Cup series begins this weekend in the costal city of Kusadasi, Turkey.
This is the first time that the European circuit includes one of the most attractive city of the Aegean. The ITU Triathlon European Cup will be organised by Kuadas Rotary Club by the cooperation of Kuadas Municipality and Turkish Triathlon Federation. Triathlon competitions have already been held in Kusadasi on national level for the past two years.

The 2007 Kusadasi ITU Triathlon European Cup will host over 90 triathletes on Sunday, 10 June. In the men’s event the German Christian Prochnow, the duathlon specialist Sergey Yakolev and the Swiss U23 European Champion Ruedi Wild would battle for the podium. The women field’s favourites are the junior world champion Marion Lornblanchet (FRA), the former world cup winner Wieke Hoogzaad (NED) and the long distance specialist Natallia Barkun (BLR). For more participants see the start lists.

The race center is located at the center of the city, near the sea. Transition area is at seaside. The swim course (2 laps) is partly protected by the breakwater of marina. Sea depth is 2 to 4 meters. Sea water will be approximately 22 C on the race day. The athletes will get out of the sea by the way of a sloping platform.
The bike course heads towards the north. Some part of that course is surrounded with 5 star hotels but generally has beautiful view of sea and mountain.
Historical sites and bazaars surrounds the run course. The main seaport, old caravansaray with large courtyard, the Pigeon Island wich gives the name to the village with old castle in it are all on the run course.

Article tags continental cup kusadasi
Related Event: 2007 Kusadasi ITU Triathlon European Cup
10 Jun, 2007 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Ruedi Wild SUI 01:54:13
2. Jonathan Zipf GER 01:54:20
3. Thomas Springer AUT 01:54:30
4. Christian Prochnow GER 01:54:46
5. Pierre Dorez FRA 01:54:56
Results: Elite Women
1. Kathrin Muller GER 02:11:26
2. Birgit Cals-Berk NED 02:12:18
3. Deniz Dimaki GRE 02:12:42
4. Olesya Prystayko UKR 02:13:12
5. Wieke Hoogzaad NED 02:14:28
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →