World’s Best At Du World Champs

by ITU Admin on 23 Sep, 2005 12:00

Newcastle, Australia: 23 September 2005: Newcastle, Australia, located 170km north of Sydney is a-buzz with hundreds of Duathletes from over 35 countries for this weekend’s ITU Duathlon World Championships. 

The Newcastle ITU Duathlon World Championships will kick off with the Age Group Duathlon World Championships on Saturday, 24th September and the Elite, Junior and Under 23 men and women competing on Sunday 25 September. 

The elite women’s race starts at 8:30 a.m. Australia time with the elite men’s race 2 and a half hours later.

The 10km run, 40km cycle and final 5km run event will be staged on the dramatic beaches of Newcastle, home of Australia’s largest working harbour.

In the women’s elite competition the trio on top of the Duathlon World will be on the start line.  World #1 Annie Emmerson of Great Britain, Hungary’s #2 Erika Csomor and #3 Caroline Kloiber of Great Britain are all going head to head.

The men’s event features Benny Vansteelant of Belgium, the perennial favourite, and with a win at the Barcis, Italy Duathlon World Cup, is an odds on favourite to take home another world title.  Anthony Leduey of France, the winner of the Corner Brook Duathlon World Cup is sitting in 2nd place going into the Newcastle World Championships and is another favourite, as is Jurgen Dereere of Belgium, the current Duathlon European Champion.

The other interesting thing about the Newcastle ITU Duathlon World Championships is the number of world class Triathletes who feature on the start list. 

Triathlon World Cup leaders such as Great Britain’s Michelle Dillon, Andrea Whitcombe, Catriona Morrison, as well as Laura Bennett of the USA, Nadia Cortassa of Italy and Vendula Frentova of the Czech Republic will put the Duathlon specialists to the test.

On the men’s side, Triathlon World Ranked #2 Tim Don of Great Britain has one Duathlon World Championships to his credits (2002).  Other Triathlon World Cup specialists on the start line include Australia’s Craig Alexander, Greg Bennett and Nick Horman, as well as Filip Ospaly of the Czech Republic and Paul Amey of Great Britain.
Click here to go the Newcastle event page.
Start lists are available on the race website by clicking here.

Please visit for all the event details, start lists and pre-event stories.  Lived coverage of the event will be featured on and results will be posted on the website as soon as possible after the event.

A post-race media release will available on the website at the conclusion of the elite women’s and men’s races.

Related Event: 2005 Newcastle ITU Duathlon World Championships
25 - 26 Sep, 2005 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Paul Amey GBR 01:56:28
2. Tim Don GBR 01:56:52
3. Javier García Gomez ESP 01:57:24
4. Anthony Le Duey FRA 01:57:39
5. Leon Griffin AUS 01:57:48
6. Rob Woestenborghs BEL 01:58:07
7. Mark Bailey NZL 01:58:10
8. Greg Bennett USA 01:58:32
9. Benny Vansteelant BEL 01:59:01
10. Nicolas Lebrun FRA 01:59:42
Results: Elite Women
1. Michelle Dillon GBR 02:11:25
2. Catriona Morrison GBR 02:11:28
3. Andrea Whitcombe GBR 02:11:36
4. Nadia Cortassa ITA 02:12:03
5. Annie Emmerson GBR 02:12:21
6. Laura Bennett USA 02:13:01
7. Talis Apud MEX 02:17:30
8. Réka Brassay HUN 02:17:49
9. Helen Lawrence GBR 02:19:08
10. Inmaculada Pereiro Gonzalez ESP 02:19:14
Results: Junior Men
1. Oliver Freeman GBR 01:01:13
2. Ritchie Nicholls GBR 01:01:58
3. Bojan Cebin SLO 01:02:13
4. Matt Daley AUS 01:02:21
5. Richard Murray RSA 01:02:46
6. Morgan Thomas AUS 01:02:59
7. Bruce Hunter NZL 01:03:10
8. Jared Watson RSA 01:03:16
9. Gábor Faldum HUN 01:03:34
10. Charles-Etienne Plourde CAN 01:03:49
Results: Junior Women
1. Rebecca Spence NZL 01:08:28
2. Gitta Arany HUN 01:09:12
3. Rosie Clarke GBR 01:09:47
4. Anna Hamilton NZL 01:10:34
5. Carolin Glaeser GER 01:11:14
6. Zsuzsa Laluska HUN 01:11:37
7. Jacqui Seebold NZL 01:11:45
8. Tyneal Clark AUS 01:11:56
9. Kristin Watt AUS 01:12:01
10. Louise Kerr AUS 01:13:01
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →