World Triathlon Series hits 50-race milestone

by Erin Greene on 10 Apr, 2015 01:13 • Español
World Triathlon Series hits 50-race milestone

The ITU World Triathlon Gold Coast marks the 50th WTS race since the new format began in 2009. During that time athletes from 65 different nations have competed in the Series and we have given out over $12.2 million in prize money.

From those 49 events Alistair Brownlee has won the most events with an incredible 17 gold medal tally. Four-time World Champion Javier Gomez Noya has been on the podium the most at 29 trips. Between them The Brownlee Brothers mantel piece boasts 41 medals on it.

Gwen Jorgensen leads the women’s field with ten wins from her 26 starts and she is also on the longest unbeaten streak in the Series history with seven consecutive wins. Will she make it eight this weekend?

Here we present some additional stats to satiate your Series knowledge. 

• WTS races have been held in 16 countries across all five regions
• A total of 694 total athletes have raced in the series since 2009 broken down into 391 men and 303 women (this includes the start list for the 50th event)
• On the men’s side, Dmitry Polyanskiy with 42 races has raced more WTS events than anyone else, while Andrea Hewitt takes the honours for the women at 40.
• Gomez may take the cake when it comes to WTS medals for the men, but Emma Moffatt owns 15 of her own – the most of any lady racing.
• The US has been represented on WTS courses more than any other National Federations with 70 starts
• Between the men and women, a total 60 athletes have stood on an WTS podium, but only 27 have won.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2015 ITU World Triathlon Gold Coast
11 - 12 Apr, 2015 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:46:53
2. Mario Mola ESP 01:47:11
3. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:47:21
4. Vicente Hernandez ESP 01:47:26
5. Richard Murray RSA 01:47:45
Results: Elite Women
1. Gwen Jorgensen USA 01:56:59
2. Sarah True USA 01:58:17
3. Katie Zaferes USA 01:58:35
4. Andrea Hansen NZL 01:59:00
5. Flora Duffy BER 01:59:05
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →