16 European Countries Qualify for 2010 Youth Olympic Games

16 European Countries Qualify for 2010 Youth Olympic Games

By Peter Holmes on 28/09/09 at 4:36 pm

France, Czech Republic, Austria, Portugal, Ukraine, Germany, Spain, Great Britain, Belgium, Italy, Sweden, Hungary, Israel, Slovenia, Russia and Croatia qualified for the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games in San Javier, Spain following a weekend of intense racing.

The athletes who participated were born between 1 January 1992 and 31 December 1993 with nine places available for European male and female competitors hoping to take a spot on the Youth Olympic Games start pontoon next summer. Both Germany and Great Britain were successful in qualifying both a man and a woman.

In the women’s race there was a convincing win for Marlene Gómez-Isslinger from Germany as took victory by fifth seconds ahead of Valentina Brambilla from Italy, who narrowly beat Great Britain’s Elinor Thorogood. Jérémy Obozil from France took men’s race honours by just eleven seconds, ahead of Lukas Kocar from the Czech Republic. Austria’s Alois Knabl took third.

The organizers were the Spanish Triathlon Federation, the Region of Murcia Triathlon Federation and the Region of Murcia Autonomous Community in collaboration with the City of San Javier.

The Youth Olympic Games will take place in Singapore next August, featuring young athletes from across the world giving them an experience of competing on the world stage and allowing them to realise their Olympic aspirations.

Youth Men

1. Jérémy Obozil FRA FR 00:56:38
2. Lukas Kocar CZE CZ 00:56:49
3. Alois Knabl AUT AT 00:56:55
4. Miguel Fernandes POR PT 00:57:17
5. Iurii Zablotskyi UKR UA 00:57:24
6. Danny Friese GER DE 00:57:25
7. Andrew Hood GBR GB 00:57:39
8. Diego Paz Sobreira ESP ES 00:57:39
9. Thomas Jurgens BEL BE 00:57:43
10. Alexey Khmelevskiy RUS RU 00:57:49

Youth Women

1. Marlene Gomez-Islinger GER DE 01:02:40
2. Valentina Brambilla ITA IT 01:03:30
3. Elinor Thorogood GBR GB 01:03:32
4. Annika Vössing GER DE 01:03:36
5. Annie Thorén SWE SE 01:03:42
6. Barbara Balogh HUN HU 01:03:45
7. Fanny Beisaron ISR IL 01:03:52
8. Monika Orazem SLO SI 01:04:00
9. Eszter Pap HUN HU 01:04:05
10. Lucy Hall GBR GB 01:04:08

Find more details about this event - 2009 Mar Menor ITU Triathlon European YOG Qualifier

Tracker Pixel for Entry