2,800 Age Groupers Compete in World Champs

by Brad Culp on 12 Sep, 2010 06:41 • Español

video placeholder Your video is loading. If the video fails to load please upgrade your Flash player

Highlights from the Age Group World Champs in Hungary

Over 2,800 age-group triathletes representing 67 came to beautiful Budapest to vie for the title of 2010 ITU Triathlon World Champion. After two exciting days of racing, Age Group World Champions have been crowned in both the Sprint-and Olympic-distance categories.

The Sprint competitors were the first to race, starting their day in wet and chilly conditions in the Hungarian capital. New Zealand started the day on a high note, sweeping the 16-19 category. Penny Hayes took the women’s title, topping teammate Danielle McKenzie, while Kiwi Robert Huisman took top honors in the men’s race.

While the Kiwis were unbeatable in the youngest category, the rest of the day was all about Great Britain. The GB team finished first and second in the men’s 20-24 group, with Thomas Perchard and Chris Joyce pulling off the one-two punch. The British team went on to place seven athletes in the top ten in the women’s 25-29, 30-34, 35-39 and 45-49 races. Seven GB athletes also found themselves in the top ten overall in the men’s 35-39 contest.

Another highlight from Saturday’s races was Canadian superstar Paula Findlay’s mom finishing with the bronze medal in the women’s 50-54 category. Sheila Findlay finished the course with an impressive time of 1:15:02.

The fastest time from the first day of action was turned in by Ireland’s Conor Murphy, who won the men’s 25-29 race with a blazing time of 58:36. 

Competitors racing in the Olympic-distance event on Sunday were greeted with much milder conditions and even a little sun, which has been a rare sighting in Budapest this week.

The fastest time of the day was turned in by Aussie Michael Prince, who flew through the course in an impressive 1:46:17 to win the men’s 30-34 age group. The next best men’s time was clocked by Briton Ben Howard, who won the 20-24 category in 1:46:41.

On the women’s side, South African Andrea Steyn posted the best overall time of the day, finishing in 1:55:43 to win the 25-29 group. That group turned out to be the fastest today, as Mexico’s Jessica Sanson Gonzalez finished as the runner-up with the second-best overall time (1:56:43).

South Africa also had a strong showing in the men’s 25-29 category, placing three athletes in the top seven overall, led by fourth-place finisher Bjorn Ludick. Britain’s Graham Leitch won the 25-29 category, finishing in 1:47:53.

The 30-34 women’s race was all about Great Britain, with Team GB athletes taking six of the top ten spots. Leading the way was Jill Parker, who won the group in 1:58:02.

Egypt showed promise as an emerging triathlon nation in the men’s 45-49 race, as Ahmed Zaher finished sixth out of 122 athletes in the highly competitive group.

It was North America’s time to shine in the women’s 50-54 race, with Canadian Margaret Ritchie taking top honors in 2:07:00, and five Team USA athletes finishing in the top eight overall.

Team USA also had a strong showing in the women’s 65-69 race, with Elizabeth Brackett putting on a dominating performance to win by over six minutes. Brackett led a group of six U.S. athletes into the top eight.

Click here for complete results from all of this weekend’s races.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2010 Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU Triathlon World Championship Grand Final Budapest
08 - 12 Sep, 2010 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Emma Jackson AUS 01:58:07
2. Kirsten Sweetland CAN 01:58:59
3. Emmie Charayron FRA 01:59:19
4. Rachel Klamer NED 01:59:31
5. Alexandra Razarenova RUS 01:59:45
6. Teresa Adam NZL 02:00:07
7. Alice Betto ITA 02:00:11
8. Flora Duffy BER 02:00:14
9. Lauren Goldstein- Kral USA 02:00:18
10. Charlotte Bonin ITA 02:00:45
Results: U23 Men
1. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:44:24
2. Ryan Sissons NZL 01:44:52
3. Franz Loeschke GER 01:44:53
4. Jamie Huggett AUS 01:44:55
5. Alessandro Fabian ITA 01:45:02
6. Crisanto Grajales MEX 01:45:22
7. Vincent Luis FRA 01:45:29
8. Richard Murray RSA 01:45:33
9. Aurelien Raphael FRA 01:45:46
10. Drew Box AUS 01:45:51
Results: Junior Women
1. Ashleigh Gentle AUS 00:57:47
2. Charlotte Bauer GER 00:58:52
3. Joanna Brown CAN 00:59:07
4. Kelly Whitley USA 00:59:20
5. Yuka Sato JPN 00:59:29
6. Neiske Becks NED 00:59:34
7. Tanelle Berard USA 00:59:46
8. Theresa Baumgartel GER 00:59:50
9. Amy Roberts AUS 00:59:51
10. Annika Vössing GER 00:59:55
Results: Junior Men
1. Fernando Alarza ESP 00:52:15
2. Thomas Bishop GBR 00:52:17
3. Kevin McDowell USA 00:52:22
4. Lukas Verzbicas USA 00:52:36
5. Ron Darmon ISR 00:52:43
6. Ryan Fisher AUS 00:52:47
7. Vicente Hernandez ESP 00:52:55
8. Anthony Pujades FRA 00:53:00
9. Matthew Sharpe CAN 00:53:02
10. Andreas Schilling DEN 00:53:06
Tracker Pixel for Entry