First World Cup Ready to Race!

First World Cup Ready to Race!

By ITU Admin on 19/03/07 at 12:00 am

También texto en español.

The 2007 BG Triathlon World Cup series begins this Sunday in the coastal town of Mooloolaba, Australia.  The 2007 Mooloolaba BG Triathlon World Cup will host over 150 of the world’s top triathletes as they battle for their share of the valuable Olympic qualifying points and US$100,000 prize money.

The opening 1,500 metre swim will take place in the open seas off of Mooloolaba beach, followed by a 40 kilometre bike and 10 kilometre run along the coastal roadways. Athletes will encounter difficult conditions with a hot and humid forecast expected to test them over the grueling course.  In all, the athletes will face 24 tough climbs, 16 on the bike course and eight on the run.

Three-time world champion, Commonwealth Games gold medalist and local favourite Emma Snowsill of Australia is the woman to beat on Sunday.  Snowsill faces tough competition, however, from the young Vanessa Fernandes of Portugal, who is looking for her 13th consecutive world cup victory.  This 13th win would be a new triathlon record.

Joining these two on the start line will be current Olympic champion Kate Allen of Austria, the German duo of Anja Dittmer and Joelle Franzmann as well as current Under23 world champion Erin Densham of Australia.

The 2006 Mooloolaba world cup winner Annabel Luxford of Australia will also be on the start line to try and defend her title.  After a terrific start to the 2006 season, including two early world cup wins,  Luxford battled with a foot injury for most of the year and is now back in form to try and return to her winning ways.

Add the Kiwi trio of Debbie Tanner, Andrea Hewitt and Samantha Warriner and it makes 23 of the top 25 women racing on Sunday.

In the men’s event, it will be reigning Mooloolaba champion Bevan Docherty of New Zealand looking to defend his title from world number one Javier Gomez of Spain and a slew of other top men.

The tricky ocean swim and hilly bike course fits right into fellow Kiwi, Kris Gemmell’s race plan as he is know to excel in tough condition.  It will be no surprise to see Gemmell break off the front with the other powerful men in the field including Andy Potts of the United States, Marko Albert of Estonia and Craig Walton of Australia.

They will have a hard time in the hot sun however and will need to have a significant lead heading into the 10 kilometre run course in order to hold off the top runners in the field.
Commonwealth Games gold medalist Brad Kahlefeldt of Australia and teammates Courtney Atkinson and Simon Thompson

Other notables include Matt Reed and Jarrod Shoemaker of the United States, Tony Moulai from France, Bruno Pais of Portugal and Sven Riederer of Switzerland.

The Mooloolaba world cup will also double as a platform for the ITU’s sport development initiative TEAM BG.  Nine athletes from eight emerging triathlon nations including Croatia, Israel, Malaysia, Costa Rica, Finland, Costa Rica, Serbia and Montenegro and Korea will gain the chance to race with the top athletes in the world in the world cup.  These athletes receive funding and coaching support to compete in the world cup to gain international racing experience. 

Watch pre-race video now.

Live coverage for the 2007 Mooloolaba BG Triathlon World Cup will take place at the following times, exclusively right here on www.triathlon.org;

Pacific Time - Vancouver / L.A: 18:00*
Eastern Time - New York / Toronto: 21:00*
BST - Dublin / London: 02:00
Beijing / Perth: 09:00
Tokyo: 10:00
Sydney: 11:00
Auckland: 13:00

(* -> Saturday)

Click here for a time in your local area.

Click here for full World Cup start list

Click here for full race details


Start of the 2006 Mooloolaba BG Triathlon World Cup




Listos para la Copa del Mundo 2007

La serie de la Copa del Mundo BG de Triatlón comenzará este Domingo en la ciudad costera de Mooloolaba, Australia. La Copa del Mundo BG de Triatlón 2007 de Mooloolaba acogerá entorno a 150 de los mejores triatletas de elite que se batirán por conseguir puntos clasificatorios para los JJOO así como la bolsa de premios de 100.000 dólares americanos.

Los primeros 1500 metros natación se desarrollarán en mar abierto desde la playa de Mooloolaba, seguido por 40 Km. bici y 10 Km. carrera por las carreteras costeras. Los atletas se encontrarán con difíciles condiciones con una previsión meteorológica de calor y humedad que les pondrá a prueba en la carrera. Con todo, los atletas se enfrentarán a 24 escarpadas pendientes, 16 en la bici y 8 en la carrera.

La tres veces campeona del mundo, medallista de oro de los Juegos de la Commonwealth y favorita local Emma Snowsill, de Australia es la mujer a ganar el Domingo. Snowsill se enfrentará en la competición, a la joven Vanessa Fernandes de Portugal , que busca hacerse con sus 13ª vistoria consecutiva en la Copa del Mundo. Esta victoria sería un nuevo record en el triatlón.

A ellas dos se unirá en la línea de salida la actual campeona Olímpica Kate Allen de Austria, el dúo alemán de Anja Dittmer y Joelle Franzmann así como la actual campeona del mundo Sub23 Erin Desham de Australia.

La campeona de la copa de Mooloolaba de 2006, Annabel luxford de Asutalia también estará en la línea de salida para intentar defender su título. Después de un impresionante inicio de temporada en 2006, que incluyo dos victorias en la copa del mundo, Luxford se enfrentó a una lesión en el pie casi todo el año, y ahora está de vuelta en forma para intentar volver a su racha victoriosa. 

Hay que añadir el trío Kiwi compuesto por Debbie Tanner, Andrea Hewitt y Samantha Warriner que hacen 23 de las 25 mejores mujeres que corren este Domingo.

En la carrera de los hombres, será el actual campeón de Mooloolaba Bevan Docherty de Nueva Zelanda que buscará defender su título frente al número uno del mundo el español Javier Gómez y a un montón de otros grandes atletas.

La engañosa prueba de natación y la abrupta carrera en bici se ajusta perfectamente a otro Kiwi, el plan de carrera de Kris Gemmell el cual es conocido por su excelencia en estas condiciones. No sería una sorpresa ver a Gemmell ponerse al frente junto con otros poderosos corredores como Andy potts de EEUU, Marko Albert de Estonia y Craig Walton de Australia.

Pasarán de todos modos un mal rato bajo el intenso sol y necesitarán una significativa ventaja en la carrera de 10 Km. para poder mantener atrás a los grandes atletas que van a participar.

Otros grandes incluyen a Matt Reed y Jarol Shoemaker de EEUU, Tonu Moulai de Francia, Bruno Pais de Portugal y Sven Riederer de Suiza.

La copa del mundo de Mooloolaba también doblará como plataforma para la iniciativa TEAM BG de Desarrollo del Deporte ITU. Nueve atletas de ocho naciones emergentes del triatlón que incluyen a Croacia, Israel, Malasia Costa Rica, Finlandia, Serbia y Mo9ntenegro y Corea tendrán la oportunidad de correr con los mejores atletas del mundo en la copa del mundo. Estos atletas recibirán fondos y apoyo de entrenadores para competir en la copa del mundo y ganar experiencia en carreras internacionales.


La cobertura en directo para la Copa del Mundo BG de Triatlón de Mooloolaba 2007 será en el siguiente horario, exclusivamente a través de www.triathlon.org

Horario del Pacífico - Vancouver / Los Angeles: 18:00*
Horario Costa Este - Nueva York / Toronto: 21:00*
BST - Dublin / Londres: 02:00
CET-Paris /Budapest 03:00
Beijing / Perth: 09:00
Tokyo: 10:00
Sydney: 11:00
Auckland: 13:00

(* -> Sábado)

Horario local en su zona

Todos los detalles de la Copa del Mundo

Todos los detalles de la carrera


Salida de la Copa del Mundo de Mooloolaba de 2006

Find more details about this event - 2007 Mooloolaba BG Triathlon World Cup

Responses to "First World Cup Ready to Race!"

Tracker Pixel for Entry