France’s Charayron Wins 2009 ITU Triathlon Junior World Championships

by Peter Holmes on 12 Sep, 2009 01:00 • Español

video placeholder Your video is loading. If the video fails to load please upgrade your Flash player

Emmie Charayron from France transferred European junior success to a world title as she crossed the line in 1:00:22 to win the ITU Triathlon Junior World Championships on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Charayron won the European championships in both 2008 and 2009, however had never converted that success into a world medal; her best finish being 16th in Hamburg in 2008. In her final year as a junior she finally stepped up to the plate, dominating the final 5km run to pull clear of Australia’s Emma Jackson to take the gold with Rachel Klamer from the Netherlands holding off compatriot Maaike Caelers for the bronze.

Charayron had been troubled early on during her weakest discipline, the 750m non-wetsuit ocean swim, and exited the water thirty seconds behind the leaders; however she was able to keep her head and work her way back up to the front of the race. Once on the run there was no looking back as France took their first medal of the 2009 ITU Triathlon World Championships and continued a fine run of junior success which saw gold medals for Aurelian Raphael and Vincent Luis on the men’s side in 2007 and 2008.

Jackson’s silver medal came as some surprise as the eighth place finisher at the Oceania championships rocketed onto the world podium in style, running strongly to the delight of the home crowd.

Related Event: 2009 Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Grand Final Gold Coast
09 - 13 Sep, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Hollie Avil GBR 01:56:38
2. Jodie Stimpson GBR 01:57:01
3. Paula Findlay CAN 01:57:15
4. Vicky Holland GBR 01:57:30
5. Yuliya Yelistratova UKR 01:59:48
6. Sarah Fladung GER 02:00:22
7. Annamaria Mazzetti ITA 02:00:31
8. Charlotte Morel FRA 02:00:32
9. Agnieszka Jerzyk POL 02:00:44
10. Dan Bi Hong KOR 02:00:50
Results: U23 Men
1. Franz Loeschke GER 01:46:19
2. James Seear AUS 01:46:25
3. Joao Pereira POR 01:46:32
4. Tony Dodds NZL 01:46:39
5. Jonathan Zipf GER 01:46:41
6. Jose Miguel Perez ESP 01:46:57
7. Ivan Tutukin RUS 01:47:04
8. Crisanto Grajales MEX 01:47:15
9. Lukas Salvisberg SUI 01:47:30
10. Denis Vasiliev RUS 01:47:34
Results: Junior Men
1. Mario Mola ESP 00:54:35
2. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 00:54:50
3. Kristóf Király HUN 00:54:55
4. Kevin McDowell USA 00:55:07
5. Davide Uccellari ITA 00:55:10
6. Igor Polyanskiy RUS 00:55:13
7. Min Ho Heo KOR 00:55:14
8. Andrey Bryukhankov RUS 00:55:19
9. Stefan Zachäus LUX 00:55:22
10. Matheus Diniz BRA 00:55:25
Results: Junior Women
1. Emmie Charayron FRA 01:00:22
2. Emma Jackson AUS 01:00:41
3. Rachel Klamer NED 01:00:57
4. Maaike Caelers NED 01:00:59
5. Alexandra Razarenova RUS 01:01:05
6. Allison Hooper CAN 01:01:09
7. Holly Aitken AUS 01:01:27
8. Kyla Coates CAN 01:01:39
9. Carina Brechters GER 01:01:40
10. Yuka Sato JPN 01:01:51
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →