France's Coninx claims 2013 Junior Men's World Championship title

by Merryn Sherwood on 12 Sep, 2013 10:00 • Español

video placeholder Your video is loading. If the video fails to load please upgrade your Flash player

In a thrilling finish that came down to final few metres in London, France's Dorian Coninx claimed the 2013 ITU Junior Men's World Championships. Although th...

In a thrilling finish that came down to final few metres in London, France’s Dorian Coninx claimed the 2013 ITU Junior Men’s World Championship on Thursday.

Although the 2013 European Champion was in the lead group all day in an impressive all-round performance, it wasn’t until the final finishing straight that he could finally make sure of the win, just holding off Great Britain’s Marc Austin and Grant Sheldon in a thrilling sprint to the end.

In an incredible performance, all three of the medallists ran sub 15-minute five kilometre run splits.

Austin said he was thrilled to podium at home, and overall do well with the two teammates he’s been training with for years.

“When you go and see all the guys on the podium, I’m just happy I get to go back to the hotel with a medal,” he said. “Me and Grant and Gordon (Benson) have been training together for a few years, It’s a really strong set up. We’ve got a really strong team.”

Sheldon said the chance to race on the London 2012 Olympics course was just an added thrill in a brilliant day.

“It was really cool, I was down here watching last year and to be now a part of it is really cool,” Sheldon said.

The Junior Men’s race started with another wetsuit swim in the Serpentine and while Coninx was first out of the water, the swim didn’t do much to split the 84-strong field.

Almost all of the athletes exited within 30 seconds of each other and a large lead group of 21 formed on the first lap of the bike. While they had a lead 30 seconds on the first lap to the second chase, another stunning performance from the Netherlands Jorik Van Egdom ensured it didn’t stay that way long.

Van Egdom, who is the 2013 Junior Men’s Cross Triathlon and Duathlon World Champion, started the 20km bike leg in a third chase pack that was 42 seconds behind the leaders one lap down. However he bridged to the first chase on the second lap and helped them reduce the gap to 27 seconds. In a race-changing third bike lap the chase cut that back to just 14. It meant that the group was close enough to bridge to the leaders just ahead of the second transition, putting almost 50 athletes in T2 within 14 seconds of each other.

In those conditions a fast transition was always going to be important and the eventual top six had some of the best. While Germany’s Jonas Schomburg initially led the run, it didn’t take long for the pre-race favourites to group together including the top-four from this year’s European Championships, Coninx, Austin, France’s Raphael Montoya and Great Britain’s Gordon Benson, as well as the Oceania Champion Jacob Birtwhistle (AUS), Van Egdom and Sheldon.

While Van Egdom faltered in the final lap, that top six didn’t let go of their lead. Birtwhistle was the first to drop from medal contention, leaving it a five-way battle between the two Frenchman and three Brits. They headed out on the final run lap shoulder to shoulder, but it was Coninx that took charge in the final kilometre. While Austin and Sheldon desperately tried to catch him, he was too strong in his first ITU World Championship title and strode out to win by around 100 metres.

Montoya held on for fourth while Benson finished fifth. Birtwhistle claimed sixth after completing a 10-second penalty.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2013 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final London
11 - 15 Sep, 2013 • event pageall results
Results: 16-19 Female AG Sprint
1. Malia Ellington USA 01:11:42
2. Elyse Foster AUS 01:12:57
3. Emma Jeffcoat AUS 01:13:46
4. Kirsten Vergara CHI 01:14:14
5. Steffie Holcroft NZL 01:14:23
6. Natalea Smith AUS 01:15:09
7. Aleena Villani USA 01:15:24
8. Hannah Sturmer NZL 01:15:47
9. Lauren York GBR 01:15:50
10. Severine Bouchez CAN 01:16:08
Results: 16-19 Male AG Sprint
1. Gustav Iden NOR 01:03:56
2. Kyle Smith NZL 01:04:16
3. Dillon Nobbs USA 01:04:25
4. Matthew Baker AUS 01:04:36
5. Christopher Perham GBR 01:04:54
6. Morten Hansen NOR 01:05:03
7. Michael Hooper AUS 01:05:04
8. Cameron Roberts AUS 01:05:09
9. William Kirk GBR 01:05:21
10. Tony Morales USA 01:05:34
Results: 18-19 Female AG
1. Charlotte Taylor GBR 02:00:29
2. Brooke Saunders USA 02:11:23
3. Rebecca Ladyman GBR 02:11:34
4. Severine Bouchez CAN 02:15:22
5. Michelle Swarovski USA 02:19:38
6. Skyler Werner USA 02:19:51
7. Rachel Hardy GBR 02:20:26
8. Amy Penberthy AUS 02:20:33
9. Lauren Evans GBR 02:35:00
10. Nicole Walch USA 02:35:31
Results: 18-19 Male AG
1. Morten Hansen NOR 01:52:41
2. Jessey The Elf CAN 01:52:49
3. Andrew Beardsall CAN 01:54:00
4. Robbie Deckard USA 01:58:49
5. Cameron Goodison AUS 01:59:11
6. Tautvydas Kopustas LTU 01:59:25
7. Spencer Ralston USA 01:59:33
8. Dmitry Baer USA 01:59:50
9. Martin Van Der Velden NZL 02:00:50
10. Leonardo Sanchez Ramirez MEX 02:01:26
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry