Gomez grabs gold!!!

Gomez grabs gold!!!

By ITU Admin on 09/09/06 at 12:00 am

An outstanding field of triathlon champions and veterans could not overcome the young Spaniard Javier Gomez as he cruised to his second world cup victory of the season today at the 2006 Hamburg BG Triathlon World Cup.  Olympic bronze medalist Sven Riederer of Switzerland was second, and Commonwealth Games gold medalist Brad Kahlefeldt of Australia, finished third in the test event for the 2007 BG Triathlon World Championships. 
Gomez was able to beat out a world-class field over the 1,500 metre swim, 40 kilometre bike and 10 kilometre run for his fourth world cup podium in five races.

Watch highlights of the men’s race now.


I did not expect to win, stated the 23 year old Gomez. I did not feel very good last week in Lausanne so I was hungry to do well today and I am very pleased with the result.  I think it was the fastest run of my life

After a strong swim and bike it was a slow second transition from the bike to run that had Gomez playing catch-up to a small group of the worlds top triathletes.  This elite group contained the likes of Riederer, Kahlefeldt, Olympic Silver medalist Bevan Docherty of New Zealand, three-time world champions Peter Robertson of Australia, world number one ranked Hunter Kemper from the USA, among others.

Gomez did not stay with the group long as he took off through the streets of downtown Hamburg to the cheers of an estimated 60,000 spectators.  Having time to clap and wave to the crowd, Gomezs time of 1:43:01 bested his closest rival Riederer by 14 seconds and third place Kahlefeldt by another 5 seconds.

I am still growing up in this sport, commented the university student Gomez. I would like to be at the top in two or three years.  The young Spaniard is well on his way, moving up to third in the world with his win today.

Riederer and Kahlefeldt raced neck in neck until the last 200 metres when the Swiss athlete started his sprint to the line.

I think I felt stronger than Brad in the run, I always have a good sprint finish and I pushed very hard 200 metres from the end and Brad could not come with me. explained Riederer, who finished third here last year.

The last 500 metres we really pushed it, responded Kahlefeldt, who moves into first place in the world cup rankings after today.  I kept the pace on just to keep Bevan [Docherty] away.  I just wanted the podium today to build my points up for the world rankings.

Officials and organisers were impressed with todays result and are looking forward to next year when Hamburg will play host to the 2007 BG Triathlon World Championships in late August.

Click here for official men’s results.Official Results

Updated ranking are available on the ITU rankings page.

Click here for official photo gallery.

Watch highlights of the men’s race now.


Be sure to log into Tricast Live! tomorrow to watch the women’s race live and in real time on www.triathlon.org. The races will be live at the following times on Sunday.

Hamburg: 14:30    
Vancouver / L.A: 05:30
New York / Toronto: 08:30
Dublin / London: 13:30
Beijing / Perth: 20:30    
Tokyo: 21:30
Sydney: 22:30
Auckland: 00:30*

*Next Day

Find more details about this event - 2006 Hamburg BG Triathlon World Cup

Responses to "Gomez grabs gold!!!"

Tracker Pixel for Entry