Nancy ETU Duathlon European Championship Recap

by Brad Culp on 05 May, 2010 02:44

The UNESCO World Heritage site of Place Stanislas in Nancy, France was transformed into a duathlon venue last weekend to host the ETU Duathlon European Championship. The event coincided with the May Day holiday in France.

Nineteen nations came together from the furthest reaches of Europe to test their teams over the standard distance (10-km run, 40-km bike, 5-km run) and sprint distance (5-km run, 20-km bike, 2.5-km run).


Once the May Day marches had finished it was time for the Junior duathletes to get started. A spectacular display of riding skills came from Simon Moussel, the French athlete to the delight of the local crowds. Coming in to T2 his lead was over 400 metres, but a swift and clean transition from Uccelari (ITA), Aubin (ESP), Bishop (GBR) and Hernandez (ESP) caught the group up to the leader. It was a frantic battle at the front for victory, which finally went to Davide Uccelari, who topped Uxio Aubin by just three seconds to take gold. Brit Thomas Bishop rounded out the podium.

After the first run in the Junior women’s contest it was Dutchwoman Marjon Van Der Wansem taking control and leading a pack of six athletes into the first transition. Three more women joined the lead pack on the bike, lead by Italy’s Giorgia Priarone. On the second run Russia’s Elena Danilova ran away from Van der Wansem in the final 100 metres to take gold. The Dutchwoman finished second, 11 seconds ahead of Czech Petra Kurikova.

Elite and U23 Women

The rain stayed off and a big crowd gathered for the U23 and Elite woman, who were set off together. A lead pack of five athletes quickly emerged in the form of Van der Meijden (NED), Sukhoruchenkova (RUS), Ingram (GBR), Grimmet (GBR) and Louison (FRA), who had the support of the local crowd.

Several surges on the bike soon broke the lead pack down to just Van der Meijden and Ingram. The two leaders set off on a blistering pace out of the second transition. The pair ran neck-and-neck for the entire second run until the last turn where Meijden broke away to take gold. Ingram hung on for second with countrywoman Grimmet finishing third.

In the women’s U23 contest Belgium’s Alexandra Tondeur topped Italy’s Alice Capone for the win.

Elite and U23 Men

As with the women, the Elite and U23 men set off together. Dominating the first run was Iakoleve (RUS), Buckingham (GBR) and Silva (POR). The trio entered the first transition with a 12-second advantage over the chase pack, which amazingly included three U23 athletes. After the bike leg 13 athletes entered T2 together. Russia’s Sergey Iakovlev set off at a blistering pace on the final run, but keeping pace with him was French U23 athlete Etienne Diemunsch. In the end, Iakovlev was the first to cross the finish to take the Elite title. Diemunsch was second across the line, winning the U23 category.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2010 Nancy ETU Duathlon European Championships
30 - 02 May, 2010 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Alexandra Tondeur BEL 01:54:18
2. Alice Capone ITA 01:56:30
3. Lois Rosindale GBR 01:56:50
4. Sophie Coleman GBR 01:57:32
5. Lena Kopp GER 02:03:47
6. Daria Pletikapa CRO 02:04:51
DNS. Anna Burova RUS DNS
Results: U23 Men
1. Etienne Diemunsch FRA 01:37:46
2. Oscar Vicente ESP 01:38:02
3. Miguel Arraiolos POR 01:39:57
4. Vasco Pessoa POR 01:43:06
5. Ruben Costa POR 01:43:43
6. Matej Sporar CRO 01:44:14
7. Wim De Cort BEL 01:47:33
DNS. Alexis Choteau BEL DNS
DNS. Dmitry Esaulav RUS DNS
DNS. José Estrangeiro POR DNS
Results: Junior Women
1. Elena Danilova RUS 00:55:01
2. Marjon Van Der Wansem NED 00:55:05
3. Petra Kurikova CZE 00:55:16
4. Eszter Dudás HUN 00:55:22
5. Giorgia Priarone ITA 00:55:22
6. Jade Diemunsch FRA 00:55:24
7. Justine Guerard FRA 00:55:43
8. Alexia Bailly FRA 00:56:04
9. Monika Orazem SLO 00:56:18
10. Liis-Grete Arro EST 00:57:56
Results: Junior Men
1. Davide Uccellari ITA 00:48:17
2. Uxio Abuin Ares ESP 00:48:20
3. Thomas Bishop GBR 00:48:23
4. Vicente Hernandez ESP 00:48:24
5. Simon Moussel FRA 00:48:30
6. Marco Guerci ITA 00:48:45
7. Fernando Alarza ESP 00:48:47
8. Maarten De Bolster BEL 00:48:51
9. Anton Kozlov RUS 00:48:53
10. Simon Viain FRA 00:49:07
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →