2012 Photo of the Year - Week Seven: Yokohama

by Fergus Murray on 16 Dec, 2012 05:00 • Español
2012 Photo of the Year - Week Seven: Yokohama

As the penultimate stop on the ITU World Triathlon Series, Yokohama was the site of gut wrenching efforts to clench critical world championship points. The women’s race saw a grueling battle between training partners, while Joao Silva defended his race title.

After a large group hit the second transition together, a smaller pack of brisk runners led by Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) and Emma Moffatt (AUS) forged ahead early on the run in the women’s race. Lisa Norden, meanwhile, sat back waiting for the right time to strike. When she did blast off, her training partner Anne Haug (GER) followed, and Norden found herself engaged in an all-out sprint for the second time this year. While she finished with silver in London, a determined Norden got the win in Yokohama. Review the sprint finish here.

Silva enjoyed his second consecutive win at the ITU World Triathlon Yokohama with a blistering run that bested Spain’s Javier Gomez. Although Yuichi Hosoda (JPN) and Kris Gemmell (NZL) broke away on the bike, they couldn’t hold off Gomez, who ran in front until the final lap. But Silva slingshot past a then-recently injured Gomez for the top podium spot. Check out Silva defend his title here.

Vote on which photo you think is the best below.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2012 ITU World Triathlon Yokohama
29 - 30 Sep, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Lisa Norden SWE 01:59:07
2. Anne Haug GER 01:59:07
3. Maaike Caelers NED 01:59:12
4. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:59:17
5. Erin Densham AUS 01:59:22
6. Ashleigh Gentle AUS 01:59:26
7. Sarah True USA 01:59:36
8. Gwen Jorgensen USA 01:59:56
9. Barbara Riveros CHI 02:00:22
10. Gillian Sanders RSA 02:00:29
Results: Elite Men
1. Joao Silva POR 01:48:44
2. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:48:57
3. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:49:10
4. Laurent Vidal FRA 01:49:22
5. David Hauss FRA 01:49:43
6. Adam Bowden GBR 01:49:55
7. Tony Moulai FRA 01:50:10
8. David Mcnamee GBR 01:50:18
9. Richard Murray RSA 01:50:23
10. Hirokatsu Tayama JPN 01:50:25
Results: Paratriathlon Male TRI-2
1. Atsushi Yamamoto JPN 01:46:17
2. Taichi Takeuchi JPN 02:25:29
Results: Paratriathlon Male TRI-4
1. Arata Higuchi JPN 02:14:22
Related articles
  • Joao Silva successfully defends Yokohama title
    Portugal’s Joao Silva timed his race perfectly to outpace Spain’s Javier Gomez on the final lap, taking his second consecutive Yokohama title with Russia’s Dmitry Polyanskiy following close behind for bronze
    07:10 - 29 Sep, 2012
  • Lisa Norden continues hot streak in Yokohama
    Mirroring the London 2012 Olympic Games, Yokohama witnessed a spectacular sprint finish and this time Sweden’s Lisa Norden was not denied gold beating Germany’s Anne Haug to claim her second straight WTS victory
    07:06 - 29 Sep, 2012
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →