2012 Vitoria-Gasteiz ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships Update

by Merryn Sherwood on 15 Dec, 2011 10:40 • EspaƱol

Spanish triathlon legend Eneko Llanos has issued an invitation to all triathletes to race with him at home, at the 2012 Vitoria-Gasteiz ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships.

Llanos is a two-time Olympian, he competed in Sydney and Athens, as well as a ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Champion and the 2010 European Long Distance Triathlon Champion. He won that title in the first major event in his home town of Vitoria-Gasteiz, and now he extends a warm welcome to everyone for the event on July 29, 2012.

“Since I entered in the world of triathlon my dream has been to race a great event on my land, at my home. So many hours of training on these roads, these paths and this nature that surrounds Vitoria-Gasteiz, but always thinking about challenges thousands of miles away from here,” Llanos said. “Now, at last, my dream has come true and my city Vitoria-Gasteiz and my land Araba, is hosting the Long Distance Triathlon World Championship. I invite you all to visit my home, to share my dream.”

Vitoria-Gasteiz is the capital city of the province of Álava and of the autonomous community of the Basque Country in northern Spain. An early entry fee of 125 EUR is available for entrants who register before the end of December 2011. Please proceed to register your athletes through the ITU online entry system and the LOC will invoice the National Federations.

For more information, visit the event site on www.triathlon.org, or the event website here.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2012 Vitoria-Gasteiz ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships
29 Jul, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Caroline Steffen SUI 06:04:17
2. Camilla Pedersen DEN 06:09:23
3. Jodie Swallow GBR 06:12:48
4. Virginia Berasategi Luna ESP 06:20:36
5. Maider GaztaƱaga Dorronsoro ESP 06:23:52
6. Ewa Bugdol POL 06:24:46
7. Jeanne Collonge FRA 06:35:15
8. Olesya Prystayko UKR 06:37:23
9. Gurutze Frades Larralde ESP 06:45:38
10. Estefania Gomez Villanueva ESP 06:47:13
Results: Elite Men
1. Chris Mccormack AUS 05:29:47
2. Eneko Llanos Burguera ESP 05:31:39
3. Dirk Bockel LUX 05:34:54
4. Emil Dalgaard DEN 05:38:39
5. Martin Krnavek CZE 05:44:47
6. Viktor Zyemtsev UKR 05:45:49
7. Nikolay Yaroshenko RUS 05:46:23
8. Duarte Silva Marques POR 05:50:51
9. Pedro Miguel Reig Jover ESP 05:52:11
10. Miquel Blanchart ESP 05:52:42
Results: 70-74 Male AG
1. Eli Iwens BEL 08:34:10
2. Roger Little USA 09:07:00
3. Horst Greb GER 09:36:47
4. Warren Hill NZL 10:15:59
5. Neal Genda USA 10:58:14
Results: 65-69 Male AG
1. Anton Hergouth AUT 08:47:12
2. Manuel Jose Cruces Prado ESP 09:29:16
3. Serge Nayssens FRA 10:15:11
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →