2022 World Triathlon Long Distance and Aquathlon Championships to take place in Samorin

by Olalla Cernuda on 17 Mar, 2022 12:25 • Español
2022 World Triathlon Long Distance and Aquathlon Championships to take place in Samorin

World Triathlon is pleased to announce that the 2022 World Triathlon Multisport Championships for the Long Distance, Aquathlon and Aquabike events will take place at the iconic x-bionic® sphere sports complex, just 25km from the historic capital of Slovakia, Bratislava. The event will be hosted by Professional Triathletes Organisation (PTO), and will run alongside both the Collins Cup and PTO age group races from 18-21 August 2022. The highly experienced Challenge Family team, who have delivered their flagship race The Championship at the same venue for the past 5 years, as well as the 2021 World Triathlon Multisports Championships in Almere, Netherlands have been appointed Event Delivery partner.

The Long Distance World Championships will be delivered over the 100km distance (2km swim, 80km bike and 18km run) on the Sunday, with Elite athletes, and age-groupers all vying for world titles. The Aquabike races will also take place on the Sunday, over a 2km swim and 80km bike, open for age-groupers only. The courses for 2022 will be shorter than the standard Long Distances World Triathlon Championship events to align with the existing planning of the Collins Cup..

The Aquathlon World Championships will take place on Thursday, over a 1km swim and 5km run, and with titles up for grabs in the Elite, U23, Junior, and Age-Group categories.

The Multisport Championships will offer a total prize purse for the elites of USD100,000: USD90,000 for the Long Distance and USD10,000 for the Aquathlon, with men and women having the same prize money, as with all World Triathlon events. The world’s best long distance athletes will compete in the iconic x-bionic®sphere, being watched live on TriathlonLive.

Marisol Casado, World Triathlon President and IOC member, said: “I want to thank all the parties involved in this event. I think partnering with the PTO, x-bionic®sphere and the Challenge Family will result in an event that will be a great spectacle for all the athletes and spectators as well as for the city and the region. Athletes will be able to watch many of the world’s very best long-distance triathletes in action during the weekend. We are all ready to offer all the athletes the best experience possible and to make this an unforgettable event”.

Sam Renouf, CEO of the PTO added: “We are excited to welcome World Triathlon and the athletes who’ve qualified for the 2022 World Triathlon Multisport Championships to race alongside the PTO’s flagship event,  The Collins Cup.  With the inclusion of age group racing to the Collins Cup for the first time giving amateurs the opportunity to meet and race alongside the world’s best PTO professionals from Team Europe, Team US and Team Internationals. The addition of the 2022 World Triathlon Multisport Championships to the event demonstrates the confidence in the organisation of PTO events as well as the fabulous venue that is the x-bionic®sphere. The additional events will add to the festival nature of the event, uniting the sport through celebration of its top athletes and will be watched by millions to help build a wider fan base.”.

Related Event: 2022 World Triathlon Long Distance Championships Samorin
21 Aug, 2022 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Pierre Le Corre FRA 03:11:15
2. Florian Angert GER 03:13:29
3. Frederic Funk GER 03:15:40
4. Gregory Barnaby ITA 03:16:21
5. Clement Mignon FRA 03:17:53
Results: Elite Women
1. Lucy Charles-Barclay GBR 03:34:17
2. Emma Pallant GBR 03:37:29
3. Sarissa De Vries NED 03:39:26
4. Grace Thek AUS 03:39:42
5. Luisa Baptista BRA 03:41:02
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Martin Falch AUT 05:26:43
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Péter Boronkay HUN 04:11:45
2. Tetsuki Kaji JPN 04:16:24
3. Eduardo Oliva Calderón ESP 05:02:38
Results: PTVI Men
1. Zhalaldin Abduvaliev B1 KGZ 05:29:38
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Erik Kollár HUN 03:47:34
2. Adam Hillis NZL 04:05:08
3. Harrison Lloyd NZL 04:17:46
4. Teppel Takemura JPN 04:26:34
Results: 25-29 Male AG
1. José Cabeça POR 03:35:22
2. Zachary Cooper GBR 03:39:54
3. Philipps Joachim FRA 03:45:41
4. William Kirk GBR 03:46:55
5. Patrik Curila SVK 03:52:05
Results: 30-34 Male AG
1. Matt Kerr NZL 03:37:29
2. Aaron Belcher USA 03:53:53
3. Lukas Zamecnik SVK 04:04:12
4. Cameron Slack-Smith AUS 04:08:21
5. Lewis Smith GBR 04:09:40
Results: 35-39 Male AG
1. Marco Viappiani ITA 03:47:57
2. Nick Carling AUS 03:49:27
3. Matthew Cox GBR 03:49:44
4. Julien Wartel FRA 03:51:13
5. Reinhard Marl AUT 03:52:55
Results: 40-44 Male AG
1. Stefan Leitner AUT 03:48:59
2. Lionel Roye FRA 03:51:05
3. Jan-Morten Ra NOR 03:51:57
4. Stephen Cordiner GBR 03:53:06
5. Christian Blanchard USA 04:09:22
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →