Brits shine on home soil in Swansea

by Olalla Cernuda on 23 Jun, 2024 06:35 • Español
Brits shine on home soil in Swansea

Saturday was a great day at the office for the British Para triathlon team, who collected a total of seven medals -three golds, two silvers and three bronzes- at the World Triathlon Para Series Swansea. On a glorious and sunny day, and with just two events left on the Paralympic qualification period, the British confirmed that they are in full swing in the lead-up to the Paris 2024 Paralympics.

Dave Ellis and his guide Jack Hutchens (GBR) were the first athletes to take the tape, producing a stunning comeback to claim the gold medal despite starting the run half a minute behind USA’s Owen Cravens, who ended up in second place. Bronze medal was for the debut duo of Sam Harding and his new guide, Aaron Royle (AUS). Their third place in Swansea consolidates them in the 7th place on the Paralympic rankings, taking them one step closer to Paris.

On the women’s race, it was Ireland’s Chloe MacCombe taking the tape, crossing the finish line with over half a minute on Heloise Courvoisier (FRA).  Rio 2016 silver medallist Allison Peasgood (GBR) secured bronze -  a major boost for her hopes of qualifying for Paris 2024, with her podium spot providing her with a crucial third score for the rankings.

Two times Paralympic champion Jetze Plat (NED) seems to be in form just two months before Paris. The Dutch added in Swansea another gold medal to his extensive collection, having won every single Para triathlon race he has done since 2017, except the Pontevedra World Championships in 2023, where a flat tyre cost him the victory.

Second place was for Florian Brungraber (AUT), while third on the day was for the current World Champion Geert Schipper (NED), both of them confirming their slots for Paris.

One of the surprises of the day came on the PTWC women’s race, with Canada’s Leanne Taylor crossing the finish line in first place, almost two minutes ahead of Tokyo 2020 Paralympic champion Kendall Gretsch (USA). The bronze medal was for Melissa Nicholls (GBR), focussing on process over power to take home bronze to much delight of the local crowds.

Mohamed Lahna (USA) was the first one on the line on the PTS2 class, grabbing not only valuable points on the road to Paris 2024, but also a good confidence boost as he will be leading the Paralympic rankings when lining up on the pontoon in Paris this summer. Silver was for Maurits Morsink (NED), with Lionel Morales (ESP) finishing in third place.

On the women’s race, Paralympic champion Allysa Seeley (USA) claimed the gold medal, crossing the finish line almost two minutes ahead of Veronika Yoko Plebani (ITA). The third place was for Neele Ludwig (GER).

The three favourites on paper in the PTS3 class -Max Gelhaar (GER), Daniel Molina (ESP) and Nico Van Der Burgt (NED)- didn’t disappoint, and they ended up crossing the finish line in that exact same order.

On the women’s side, Cassie Cava (IRL) added another medal, this time a golden one, to the impressive tally of Ireland in the last Para triathlon races, crossing the finish line six minutes ahead of Sanne Koopman (NED), while the bronze medal was for Rachel Watts (USA).

Carson Clough (USA) won by one of the smallest margins of the day, only a few seconds ahead of Michael Taylor (GBR), who was the man to beat for most parts of the race but a challenging transition ended with him losing gold. Third place was for Eric McElvenny (USA), whose bronze also means that he is getting closer to the top 10 on the Paralympic rankings and a ticket to Paris.

On the women’s race, Hannah Moore (GBR) was incontestable, coming out on top in the female PTS4 category, with fellow countrywoman Megan Richter following behind in second. The bronze medal was for Hannak MacDougall, who gave Australia their second medal of the day.

Another big surprise of the day came from Ronan Cordeiro (BRA), who overcame race favourites like Martin Schulz (GER), Stefan Daniel (CAN) or Chris Hammer (USA) to take the tape and secure his spot in the Paris Paralympics. The silver medal was for Shulz, with Daniel rounding up the podium.

On the women’s race, it was an easy day at the office for five-time Paralympian Claire Cashmore (GBR), as she stormed to victory crossing the line nearly two minutes before second place. Silver was for Kamylle Frenette (CAN) while Poland’s Monika Belczewska took bronze.

Related Event: 2024 World Triathlon Para Series Swansea
22 Jun, 2024 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 00:59:24
2. Florian Brungraber H2 AUT 01:02:39
3. Geert Schipper H2 NED 01:03:10
4. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:05:25
5. Giuseppe Romele H1 ITA 01:07:00
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Mohamed Lahna USA 01:09:25
2. Maurits Morsink NED 01:09:52
3. Lionel Morales ESP 01:11:10
4. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:12:06
5. Wim De Paepe BEL 01:12:53
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Max Gelhaar GER 01:08:45
2. Daniel Molina ESP 01:10:27
3. Nico Van Der Burgt NED 01:10:56
4. Diego Lardón Ferrer ESP 01:13:49
5. Ibrahim Al Hussein TRI 01:17:47
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Carson Clough USA 01:03:39
2. Michael Taylor GBR 01:03:59
3. Eric McElvenny USA 01:05:25
4. Jorge Luis Fonseca BRA 01:05:48
5. Alejandro Sánchez Palomero ESP 01:06:06
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Ronan Cordeiro BRA 00:59:18
2. Martin Schulz GER 00:59:28
3. Stefan Daniel CAN 00:59:44
4. Chris Hammer USA 01:01:08
5. Jack Howell AUS 01:01:16
Results: PTVI Men
1. Dave Ellis B3 GBR 01:01:12
2. Owen Cravens B3 USA 01:01:19
3. Sam Harding B3 AUS 01:02:02
4. Oscar Kelly B3 GBR 01:02:32
5. Maxime Gayet B2 FRA 01:04:14
Results: PTWC Women
1. Leanne Taylor H1 CAN 01:12:21
2. Kendall Gretsch H2 USA 01:13:36
3. Melissa Nicholls H1 GBR 01:15:08
4. Mona Francis H2 FRA 01:17:01
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Allysa Seely USA 01:20:12
2. Veronica Yoko Plebani ITA 01:22:15
3. Neele Ludwig GER 01:30:41
Results: PTS3 Women
1. Cassie Cava IRL 01:24:37
2. Sanne Koopman NED 01:30:15
3. Rachel Watts USA 01:35:04
4. Liina Nuoranne FIN 01:44:44
5. Coline Grabinski FRA 01:51:54
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Hannah Moore GBR 01:15:47
2. Megan Richter GBR 01:16:58
3. Hannah MacDougall AUS 01:18:41
4. Elke Van Engelen GER 01:19:23
5. Camille Seneclauze FRA 01:22:04
Tracker Pixel for Entry