Gemmell and Harrison re-elected to Athlete Committee

by Erin Greene on 02 Nov, 2012 05:00 • EspaƱol

Following the 25th ITU Congress, eight athlete representatives from seven countries were elected to the Athletes’ Committee. Double Olympians Jessica Harrison (FRA) and Kris Gemmell (NZL) were re-elected for another consecutive two-year term, while Laurent Vidal (FRA) will again serve on the committee. They are joined by another five athletes, which includes two paratriathletes for the first time.

Jessica Harrison (FRA)
Ai Ueda (JPN) 
Claire Cunningham (GBR) - paratriathlete

Gregor Bucholz (GER) 
Kris Gemmell (NZL) 
Steve Sexton (USA) 
Laurent Vidal (FRA) 
Oswald Kydd (RSA) - paratriathlete
An additional two women will be appointed to complete the full five allotted slots, as the Athletes’ Committee is comprised of ten athletes from a minimum of three continents with equal representation from men and women. The elected members will serve as liaisons between athletes, ITU staff and the Executive Board. The ITU Athletes’ Committee receives two votes at the ITU Congress and one vote on the Executive Board.

Athletes will hold the position for a term of two years and were selected by their peers during athlete briefings at the Auckland Grand Final, as well as via a secure online voting system for those not in New Zealand.

Correction: Please note that ITU previously announced paratriathlete Santos Caballero Gonzalez (ESP) was elected to the committee. However, according to ITU rules, he is not eligible as the paratriathlete representatives must come from two different continents.

Click here for more information on the Athletes’ Committee

Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →