Golden day at Eton Dorney for British Paratriathletes

by Olalla Cernuda on 29 May, 2018 09:44 • Español
Golden day at Eton Dorney for British Paratriathletes

Britain’s elite paratriathletes won nine gold medals as Eton Dorney hosted an ITU Paratriathlon World Cup event for the first time. International athletes were welcomed to West London, where temperatures topped 25 degrees at the London 2012 Olympic rowing venue.

Gold medal winning performances were achieved by Commonwealth Champions, Joe Townsend and Jade Jones, and Paralympic champions, Andy Lewis and Martin Shultz (GER) also won their respective categories. It was a big day for some emerging athletes, including Britain’s Hannah Moore who won PTS4 gold just a year after trying her first paratriathlon and there was an opportunity to trial some new guides for the visually impaired atheltes.

After winning the PTWC race, Townsend said: “The sport just keeps moving on; you can see the fields are stacked and it’s close, hard racing. With a lot of guys coming across from different sports to paratriathlon, it means I’ve got to keep on pushing the boundaries and training hard.”

Also in the PTWC category, there was gold for Jade Jones-Hall, who has been working through her Law degree finals and couldn’t apply much power on the bike after a mechanical issue meant she had to cover the whole 20km flat course in her easiest gear. However, she showed her absolute class to claim the win from team mate Lizzie Tench.

Paralympic Champion, Andy Lewis, enjoyed every moment of racing at home. He claimed PTS2 gold ahead of Maurits Morsink (NED) having missed some training this year due to injury. He said: “My little boy and my little girl are here today, and hearing them today has really helped me, because I found that tough today, and probably one of the toughest races I’ve done ever, just because I’ve not raced for a long time.”

In the visually impaired category (PTVI) there was a valuable opportunity to trial some new guides. Paralympic silver medal winner, Alison Patrick won gold with Hannah Drewitt whilst world champion, Dave Ellis was a winner with Mark Buckingham.

Patrick said: “I haven’t raced since the European’s last year so it’s good to back out there. Me and Hannah have only worked together this week, but she did really well.”

Ellis said: “Mark’s just got so much experience, I felt really comfortable on the bike with him.

Buckingham, who guided at short notice after Carl Shaw broke his collarbone, added: “It was a good race. There’s still a bit of learning to be done though; my shoes came off the pedals as we were mounting the bike and my saddle came loose. It’s nothing we can’t work on for next time, though!”

Britain’s other golds came from Paralympians Lauren Steadman and Ryan Taylor as well as Steve Crowley. George Peasgood had another fine race to claim silver behind superstar Marin Shultz.

Related Event: 2018 Eton Dorney ITU Paratriathlon World Cup
28 May, 2018 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Joseph Townsend H2 GBR 01:00:43
2. Florian Brungraber H2 AUT 01:02:15
3. Alexandre Paviza H1 FRA 01:02:35
4. Antonio Daniel Muller H1 GER 01:04:08
5. Mark Conway H1 GBR 01:06:26
Results: PTWC Women
1. Jade Hall H2 GBR 01:13:29
2. Lizzie Tench H2 GBR 01:18:37
3. Sophie Taylor H1 GBR 01:21:05
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Andrew Lewis GBR 01:06:37
2. Maurits Morsink NED 01:08:50
3. Jules Ribstein FRA 01:09:59
4. Geoffrey Wersy FRA 01:10:48
5. Allan Armstrong USA 01:14:31
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Melissa Stockwell USA 01:26:58
2. Veronica Yoko Plebani ITA 01:27:44
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Ryan Taylor GBR 01:08:36
2. Max Gelhaar GER 01:16:30
Results: PTS3 Women
1. Nora Hansel GER 01:25:23
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Steven Crowley GBR 01:04:04
2. Joe Kurt LUX 01:05:08
3. Oliver Dreier AUT 01:05:35
4. Antonio Franko CRO 01:08:56
5. Jussi Lotvonen FIN 01:09:00
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Hannah Moore GBR 01:15:48
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Martin Schulz GER 00:57:48
2. George Peasgood GBR 00:59:03
3. Yannick Bourseaux FRA 01:00:19
4. Mauro Gava ITA 01:02:25
5. Antoine Besse FRA 01:02:54
Results: PTS5 Women
1. Lauren Steadman GBR 01:08:06
2. Claire Cashmore GBR 01:11:07
3. Sandra Chaleteix FRA 01:32:15
Tracker Pixel for Entry