ITU announces the new Athletes' Committee

by Olalla Cernuda on 30 Oct, 2018 09:07 • Español
ITU announces the new Athletes' Committee

ITU is pleased to announce the newly elected Athletes’ Committee which includes five men and five women from eight different countries. Three of the new members are Paratriathletes.

“The athletes have been an integral part of the decision-making process since ITU was founded 30 years ago,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “We are extremely proud of so many athletes stepping forward to be an integral part of our institution over the years, willing to work in the Committee to let us know their concerns and suggestions, helping us to make our sport and our events even better. This newly elected Committee has a diverse range of athletes with a wide breadth of experience, and a great balance of different backgrounds and representing different countries and cultures. We are all really proud of all of them, and are looking forward to working with them to make triathlon even better.”

The elected members will serve as liaisons between athletes, ITU staff and the Executive Board. Athletes will hold the position for a term of two years and were elected by their peers during the last month. The Chair of the Committee will be elected in the first meeting over the coming days, and he or she will be taking their seat in the ITU Executive Board at our next meeting in Luxor (Egypt).

The Athlete’s Committee is comprised of ten athletes from a minimum of three continents with equal representation from men and women. Any athlete who had points on the ITU Points List or ITU Paratriathlon Points List within the past four years was eligible to be nominated. The ITU Athlete’s Committee receives two votes at the ITU Congress and one vote on the Executive Board.

Lisa Norden (SWE) 
Rachel Klamer (NED)
Ai Ueda (JPN)
Claire Michel (BEL)
Sally Pilbeam (AUS) - paratriathlete

Tony Dodds (NZL)
Tamás Tóth (HUN)
Yannick Bourseaux (FRA) - paratriathlete
Simon de Cuyper (BEL)
Jonathan Goerlach (AUS) – paratriathlete

“I’m very much looking forward to being on the Athletes’ Committee for another term” said Swedish triathlete Lisa Norden, who also served in the previous term. “The next couple of years are very important for many athletes, it’s less than two years until the Olympic and Paralympic Games in Tokyo and the qualification process is well underway. The Committee is an important link for the athletes and I’m looking forward to doing what I can to improve and protect the interests of the athletes”, she said.

One of the newcomers to the Committee, Kiwi Tony Dodds, said: “It means a lot to me to be on the Committee. I have always cared about what athletes think and their welfare, I believe this should always come first. I have been in the game for over 13 years but am now retired, so this gives me an opportunity to help athletes and the future of the sport. I will do my best to represent all the athletes. Thank you to all who voted for us.”

“It has been a pleasure and a privilege to have served on the Athletes’ Committee and as chair over the last 12 years,” said former Chair of the Committee Jessica Harrison. “I know that the incoming committee has exceptional motivation and experience both as athletes and future sports administrators to take the Athletes’ Committee forwards in dynamic and innovative ways. This is helped by the exceptional support and mandate given to the Committee by the ITU constitution fully backed by the Executive Board and president Marisol Casado. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Board and particularly Marisol for always making me and other members of the Committee feel welcome and integral to meetings. To the ITU staff and everyone I’ve worked with, it has been an absolute pleasure. I have learned an enormous amount from you all, I’m excited that a new batch of current and former athletes have the opportunity to work alongside you in developing a sport we all love”.

ITU wants to thank all the athletes who have stepped forward to take this responsibility by presenting themselves as candidates, as well as the athletes who served in the Committee until now.

Tracker Pixel for Entry