Japan shows its class at the Paratriathlon Asian Championships

by Olalla Cernuda on 13 Aug, 2018 10:48 • Español
Japan shows its class at the Paratriathlon Asian Championships

Japan showed anew why it is considered Asia"s triathlon power house by winning six of the eight classes contested in Mt. Mayon ASTC Asian Paratriathlon Championships held for the first time in Legazpi City, in the Philipines.

Kaji Tetsuki, a silver medalist in the World Cup race in Magog, led the Japanese charge as he took the honors of crossing the finish line first among the paratriathletes that came from eight countries, to win the Men PTS5 category in a close race with runner-up Sato Keichi just 5 seconds behind, while in third place was Korean Jong Kwan Kim who negotiated the distance in 1:16.17 in the race described as the most scenic triathlon in the country with majestic Mt. Mayon serving as backdrop.

Jumpei Kimura won the Men PTWC class with an even faster time after adjustments as he crossed the finish line at the Legazpi Boulevard in 1:03.20 initiating a Japanese sweep of the category as Ryota Yoshida finished more than two minutes behind him in 1:05.41 while Seiji Tanaka was a distant third in 1:10.36.

In the Men PTVI is where the Philippines fielded blind twins Joshua and Jerome Nelmida, Hong Kong’s Kim Wa Chu broke the Japanese streak as he finished in 1:05.18 for the gold, followed by Zhaladin Abduvaliev.

The other winners in the paratriathlon events were Kenshiro Nakayama in the Men PTS2 category in 1:17.58 while Kenji Hashimoto was a distant second in 1:30.02 , while lone entry Wakako Tsuchida won in the Women PTWC ( wheelchair )  clocking 1:11.32.

Another lone bet, Yukako Hata in the Women PTS2 with her 1:25.58 finishing time, and the pair of Maruo Atsuku and Keiko Suzuki in the Women PTVI with Atsuku finishing first in 1:20.19 while Suzuki submitted a finishing time of 1:16.17.

Related Event: 2018 Mt Mayon ASTC Paratriathlon Asian Championships
10 Aug, 2018 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jumpei Kimura H1 JPN 01:03:20
2. Ryota Yoshida H2 JPN 01:08:41
3. Seiji Tanaka H1 JPN 01:10:36
4. Abdulla Alghafri H2 UAE 01:22:12
Results: PTWC Women
1. Wakako Tsuchida H2 JPN 01:11:32
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Kenshiro Nakayama JPN 01:17:58
2. Kenji Hashimoto JPN 01:30:02
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Yukako Hata JPN 01:25:58
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Jiachao Wang CHN 01:04:25
2. Hideki Uda JPN 01:06:18
3. Nurbek Toichubaev KGZ 01:12:15
4. Chikara Ara JPN 01:13:13
DSQ. Alex Silverio PHI DSQ
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Tetsuki Kaji JPN 01:04:40
2. Keiichi Sato JPN 01:04:45
3. Jong Kwan Kim KOR 01:16:17
Results: PTVI Men
1. Kin Wa Chu B2 HKG 01:08:34
2. Satoru Yoneoka B1 JPN 01:08:41
3. Zhalaldin Abduvaliev B1 KGZ 01:10:39
4. Yuichi Takahashi B1 JPN 01:11:39
5. Shigeru Akiba B3 JPN 01:14:28
Results: PTVI Women
1. Atsuko Maruo B2 JPN 01:20:19
2. Keiko Suzuki B3 JPN 01:28:09
Tracker Pixel for Entry