Olympic Games Highlights

by ITU Admin on 29 Aug, 2008 12:00

The women’s and men’s triathlon competitions at the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games were rousing success stories, not just for the six medallists but for the entire sport of triathlon.  For each day of the triathlon, more than 100 photographers and 100 reporters from around the world came to the venue and were greeted with clear blue skies and sunshine bathing the picturesque course.  Also in attendance were a number of dignitaries including Prince Albert of Monaco, King and Queen of Sweden, members of the Spanish Royal Family, Grand Duke of Luxembourg, IOC President Jacques Rogge and many more IOC members including Juan Antonio Samaranch Jr.

The men’s triathlon attracted more viewers than any other event (including opening and closing ceremonies) on CBC, the national Olympic broadcaster for Canada. 

In all, five different countries won medals at the triathlon competitions in Beijing while crowning two new Olympic champions: Emma Snowsill (AUS) and Jan Frodeno (GER).  The sport also witnessed the first multiple Olympic medallists: Simon Whitfield (CAN) and Bevan Docherty (NZL).  Vanessa Fernandes’ (POR) silver medal was just one of two earned by Portugal in Beijing.

Beijing 2008 Olympic Games - Women’s Triathlon
Gold - Emma Snowsill (AUS)
Silver - Vanessa Fernandes (POR)
Bronze - Emma Moffatt (AUS)
Click here for full field results
Click here for a comprehensive race analysis including split times and rankings

Beijing 2008 Olympic Games - Men’s Triathlon
Gold - Jan Frodeno (GER)
Silver - Simon Whitfield (CAN)
Bronze - Bevan Docherty (NZL)
Click here for full field results
Click here for a comprehensive race analysis including split times and rankings

Article tags olympics
Related Event: 2008 Beijing Olympic Games
18 - 19 Aug, 2008 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Emma Snowsill AUS 01:58:26
2. Vanessa Fernandes POR 01:59:33
3. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:59:55
4. Laura Bennett USA 02:00:21
5. Juri Ide JPN 02:00:22
6. Nicola Spirig SUI 02:00:30
7. Daniela Ryf SUI 02:00:39
8. Andrea Hewitt NZL 02:00:45
9. Kiyomi Niwata JPN 02:00:50
10. Debbie Tanner NZL 02:01:05
Results: Elite Men
1. Jan Frodeno GER 01:48:52
2. Simon Whitfield CAN 01:48:58
3. Bevan Docherty NZL 01:49:05
4. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:49:13
5. Ivan RaƱa Fuentes ESP 01:49:22
6. Daniel Unger GER 01:49:43
7. Hunter Kemper USA 01:49:48
8. Rasmus Henning DEN 01:49:57
9. Igor Sysoev RUS 01:49:59
10. Frederic Belaubre FRA 01:50:00
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →