Paralympic champions pave the way for Paris at Yokohama Para Series

by Olalla Cernuda on 13 May, 2023 05:08 • Español
Paralympic champions pave the way for Paris at Yokohama Para Series

After kicking off the Para season at the WTPS Devonport and the Abu Dhabi Para Cup back in March, the best Para triathletes of the world headed to Japan for the Yokohama Para Series, that begins with a 750m harbour swim, transitions into a 20km bike through the city streets, with its tight turns around the Kanagawa government building and iconic ferris wheel before three 1.6km run laps for all but the PTWC athletes, who tackled a single 5km lap to the finish. And on another rainy day in Yokohama, most of the favourites delivered, producing outstanding races that gave the likes of Alexis Hanquinquant, Susana Rodriguez, Martin Schulz or Lauren Parker, among other, another gold medal to their own tally.

Germany’s Paralympic champion Martin Schulz was the first one crossing the finish line this morning in Yokohama, on a race that he dominated from the beginning til the end. The German was unbeatable and showed a relatively young field on his class that he will be one to beat once again in the next Paralympic Games in Paris. Australia’s young talent Jack Howell managed to hold off his teammate David Bryan to grab the silver medal, same that he got in Devonport a couple of months ago, while Bryan crossed the finish line in third place.

The PTS5 women’s race had one of the smaller fields of the day, but still Gwladys Lemoussu (FRA) put up a fantastic effort to cross the finish line in first place, followed by newcomer Spaniard Cristina Miranda Zambrano.

If anyone has to name a para athlete that is dominating his class for the last years, that one will be Alexis Hanquinquant. The French superstar has not lost a single race sin 2019, and is making sure that everything is ready for what could be his second Paralympic gold, this time on home soil, come 2024. He crossed the finish line with the biggest margin of the day, three and a half minutes over Carson Clough (USA), who had a promising debut in one of the toughest classes. The bronze medal was also for Team USA, Eric Mcelvenny, who managed to finish ahead of the Tokyo 2020 paralympic silver and bronce meallists.

On the Women’s side, Kelly Elmlinger brought home another gold medal for Team USA, while Sally Pilbeam (AUS) crossed the finish line in second place, more than five minutes behind the winner. Emma Meyers (USA) took the last spot on the podium for the PTS4 class.

On the Men’s PTS3 class, one of the new additions to the Paralympic programme for Paris 2024, victory was for another German, Max Gelhaar, who produce an incredible swim to get away with the gold medal in Yokohama. Behind him, second to cross the finish line was GBR’s Colin Wallace, while Michael Herter (FRA) finished in the third place.

On the PTS2 men’s class, Geoffrey Wersy (FRA) managed to grab the gold medal after a slow swim, but his bike and run splits were enough to pass his teammate Stephane Bahier just before crossing the finish line, while USA’s Mohammed Lahna finished in the third place.

On the women’s race, USA produced a magnificent podium sweep, with Haley Danz finishing on top of the podium, followed by Melissa Stockwell and Allisa Seely.

Historical win for Jumpei Kimura at home, cheered by hundreds of spectators in Yokohama, thrilled to see their local hero stepping up his game to claim a gold medal. Howie Sanborn (USA) produced another strong performance to claim the silver medal, while Nic Beveridge (AUS) finished in the third place.

On the women’s category, Australia’s Lauren Parker redeemed herself after loosing the gold medal on a sprint finish at the Tokyo Paralympics with Kendall Gretsch (USA), and this time the young Aussie finished over a minute ahead of the American, battle ready to continue on the lead up to the Paris Games. Behind the strong due, the bronze medal was for Jessica Ferreira (BRA).

Owen Cravens (USA), only 20 years old, got in Yokohama the first gold at the Para Series of his career, grabbing the tape ahead of two much more experienced couples of Visually Impaired athletes: Paul Lloveras (FRA) and Satoru Yonoeka (JPN).

On the women’s class, another solid performance of Paralympic champion Susana Rodriguez added another gold medal to her tally, crossing the finish line more than six minutes of a difference with Mcclain Hermes (USA), in second place. The bronze medal was for Jessica Toumela (CAN).

Related Event: 2023 World Triathlon Para Series Yokohama
13 May, 2023 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jumpei Kimura H1 JPN 01:03:13
2. Howie Sanborn H1 USA 01:04:44
3. Nic Beveridge H1 AUS 01:18:12
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Geoffrey Wersy FRA 01:08:33
2. Stephane Bahier FRA 01:08:46
3. Mohamed Lahna USA 01:09:52
4. Kenshiro Nakayama JPN 01:20:22
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Max Gelhaar GER 01:07:57
2. Colin Wallace GBR 01:10:57
3. Michael Herter FRA 01:11:35
4. Justin Godfrey AUS 01:12:38
5. Hwang Tae Kim KOR 01:14:43
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 00:57:59
2. Carson Clough USA 01:01:35
3. Eric McElvenny USA 01:01:42
4. Hideki Uda JPN 01:01:55
5. Nil Riudavets Victory ESP 01:02:03
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Martin Schulz GER 00:56:52
2. Jack Howell AUS 00:58:17
3. David Bryant AUS 00:58:30
4. Ugurcan Ozer TUR 00:59:12
5. Michael Salisbury GBR 01:00:33
Results: PTVI Men
1. Owen Cravens B3 USA 00:58:33
2. Paul Lloveras B2 FRA 01:01:40
3. Satoru Yoneoka B1 JPN 01:01:54
4. Rafael Cabello Sanchez B2 ESP 01:02:30
5. Ryota Kashiki B2 JPN 01:03:32
Results: PTWC Women
1. Lauren Parker H1 AUS 01:07:06
2. Kendall Gretsch H2 USA 01:08:13
3. Jessica Ferreira H1 BRA 01:09:13
4. Mona Francis H2 FRA 01:09:54
5. Leanne Taylor H1 CAN 01:11:16
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Hailey Danz USA 01:13:19
2. Melissa Stockwell USA 01:15:13
3. Allysa Seely USA 01:15:36
4. Anu Francis AUS 01:17:25
5. Yukako Hata JPN 01:27:06
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Kelly Elmlinger USA 01:09:28
2. Sally Pilbeam AUS 01:14:46
3. Emma Meyers USA 01:16:29
4. Kelly Worrell USA 01:24:37
DSQ. Carmen Gonzalez Sanchez ESP DSQ
Results: PTS5 Women
1. Gwladys Lemoussu FRA 01:09:46
2. Cristina Miranda Zambrano ESP 01:17:31
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →