Six new champions named at Paratri Worlds

by Erin Greene on 31 Aug, 2014 12:39 • Español

The 2014 TransCanada Corp. World Triathlon Grand Final Edmonton saw a changing of the guard in the paratriathlon races with six athletes winning world championship titles for the first time. The British team again dominated with eight medals, closely followed by the US which was responsible for the most gold medals at three.

After relinquishing his world title last year, Aaron Scheidies (USA) reclaimed the crown taking his world championship medal haul to three.

Lauren Steadman (GBR) upset compatriot Faye Mcclelland to win her first World Championship and bring Mcclelland’s reign in the PT4 officially to a close. But the Brits swept the sport class, with Clare Cunningham snatching up the last spot on the podium.

Alison Patrick joined Steadman in beating out the pre-race favourite when she defeated Susana Rodriguez (ESP) and Melissa Reid (GBR) in the womens PT5 for her inaugural world title. Reid took second for a 1-2 British finish and Rodriguez was third.

In one of the most anticipated races of the day, Martin Schulz (GER) blew away the men’s PT4 competition by over a minute to win his second consecutive world crown. Behind him, a loud roar went up in the stands when Canada’s Stefan Daniels took silver.

After being reclassified to PT3, Sally Pilbeam (AUS) has really found her stride. She capped off her undefeated season with yet another win, which was her first at the World Championship level. With a win at European Championships under her belt, Nora Hansel (GER) earned herself another title in the women’s PT2.

With Bill Chaffey off the start list with two broken bones in his pelvis after a training accident, the men’s PT1 field was open for the taking. Krige Schabort (USA) took full advantage of the opportunity to score his first ever World Championship race after finishing third last year.

In one of the most dominant performances of the day, Kendall Gretsch (USA), who had competed in just two paratriathlon races ahead of Edmonton, won the women’s PT1 by more than five minutes.

In one of the more unexpected wins of the day, Lionel Hiffler (FRA) beat out a talented start list in the men’s PT3 to earn his first title since 2010.

The young Vasily Egorov (RUS) added a World Championship title to his European Championship one he won earlier this year, announcing him as a serious threat to the men’s PT2 for races to come.

Article gallery
Related Event: 2014 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Edmonton
29 - 01 Sep, 2014 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:48:44
2. Mario Mola ESP 01:49:04
3. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:49:07
4. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:49:22
5. Joao Pereira POR 01:49:44
6. Crisanto Grajales MEX 01:49:48
7. Jarrod Shoemaker USA 01:49:50
8. Joao Silva POR 01:49:55
9. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:50:19
10. Reinaldo Colucci BRA 01:50:29
Results: Elite Women
1. Gwen Jorgensen USA 02:00:05
2. Andrea Hewitt NZL 02:00:21
3. Nicky Samuels NZL 02:00:31
4. Sarah True USA 02:01:20
5. Aileen Reid IRL 02:01:21
6. Claudia Rivas MEX 02:01:22
7. Sara Vilic AUT 02:01:24
8. Pamella Oliveira BRA 02:01:26
9. Katie Zaferes USA 02:01:27
10. Rachel Klamer NED 02:01:30
Results: U23 Men
1. Dorian Coninx FRA 01:53:06
2. Marc Austin GBR 01:53:20
3. Gordon Benson GBR 01:53:30
4. Simon Viain FRA 01:53:46
5. Marten Van Riel BEL 01:53:56
6. Ben Kanute USA 01:54:01
7. Alexis Lepage CAN 01:54:07
8. Tyler Mislawchuk CAN 01:54:15
9. Wian Sullwald RSA 01:54:21
10. Andrey Bryukhankov RUS 01:54:24
Results: U23 Women
1. Sophia Saller GER 02:04:52
2. Gillian Backhouse AUS 02:05:25
3. Erin Storie USA 02:06:59
4. Kirsten Kasper USA 02:07:33
5. Leonie Periault FRA 02:07:48
6. Amelie Kretz CAN 02:07:57
7. Paola Diaz MEX 02:08:22
8. Hanna Philippin GER 02:08:25
9. Sophie Corbidge NZL 02:08:30
10. Johanna Gartman USA 02:09:02
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →