Spaniard Camila Alonso and Brazilian Manoel Mesías grab Iberoamerican titles

by Chelsea White on 20 Mar, 2017 09:50 • Español
Spaniard Camila Alonso and Brazilian Manoel Mesías grab Iberoamerican titles

Montevideo, Uruguay’s capital, became the capital of the triathlon community in Latin America on Sunday, March 19, hosting the 2017 CAMTRI Sprint Triathlon American cup & Iberoamerican and South American Championships. It was also the meeting host site of the Iberoamerican Association, presided by ITU’s President, Marisol Casado, and CAMTRI President, Liber García.

Ramírez Beach, one of the most popular places in the Uruguayan capital, hosted the sprint race, where athletes went for a 750m swim on the Atlantic ocean, followed by four laps of 5 km each in a very technical and flat bike circuit, to finish with a 5km run in the heart of the colonial city.

In the women’s race, Spaniard Camila Alonso proclaimed herself Iberoamerican Champion for the second consecutive year, after leading the race from start to finish. She crossed the finish line with almost a minute of difference from the silver medalist, Mexican Adriana Barraza{/exp:tag_this}. Third spot on the podium went to Elizabeth Bravo (ECU).

In the men’s race, Brazilian Manoel Mesías, the 2015 Junior World Champion and 2016 U23 World Champion runner-up, claimed the title on one of his first races as a senior athlete, confirming his promising up and coming career. Even though he didn’t performed as he used to on the swim, Mesías ended with a fabulous run which earned him the Iberoamerican champion title, followed on the finish line by Gonzalo Raul Tellechea (ARG) and Eder Mejía (MEX).

This year’s race hosted 22 female athletes and 44 men who contested the Iberoamerican championship, with athletes coming from nine Iberoamerican countries.

Related Event: 2017 Montevideo CAMTRI Sprint Triathlon American Cup & Iberoamerican and South American Championship
19 Mar, 2017 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Manoel Messias BRA 00:57:20
2. Gonzalo Raul Tellechea ARG 00:57:36
3. Eder Mejia Muñoz MEX 00:57:45
4. Anton Ruanova BRA 00:57:52
5. Felipe Barraza CHI 00:57:57
Results: Elite Women
1. Camila Alonso Aradas ESP 01:02:30
2. Adriana Barraza MEX 01:03:07
3. Elizabeth Bravo ECU 01:03:07
4. Beatriz Neres BRA 01:03:17
5. Romina Palacio Balena ARG 01:03:54
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →