Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Tripartite Commission Invitation Places

by Olalla Cernuda on 06 Sep, 2019 11:34 • Español
Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Tripartite Commission Invitation Places

The Invitation Places offering the opportunity to NOCs, which have traditionally sent small delegations to the Olympic Games, to be represented at the next edition of the Games are now open to be considered.

A further objective of the Olympic Games Tripartite Commission (IOC / ANOC / ASOIF) is to contribute to enhancing and reflecting universality by selecting athletes from such NOCs, which have not been able to qualify, so that they may have an opportunity to be invited to compete in sports and disciplines for which Invitation Places have been reserved.

For the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games:
A total of 16 sports (including triathlon) are eligible with Invitation Places within the Athletes’ Quota.
A total of 104 places in 16 individual sports will be available for allocation to all eligible NOCs.
A total of 92 eligible NOCs.

Application deadline: Eligible NOCs to send applications to Olympic Solidarity is by 17 January 2020. Please note that National Federations must contact their National Olympic Committees for application.

List of the Eligible NFs (highlighted the NFs with affiliated Triathlon National Federation)

Africa (35):
Burundi, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea, Lesotho, Libya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Mauritania, Niger,Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia.

America (17):
Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bermuda, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, the US Virgin Islands.

Asia (18):
Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Iraq, Kuwait, Laos, Maldives, Myanmar,Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Sri Lanka, Syria, Timor-Leste, Yemen.

Europe (9):
Albania, Andorra, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, North Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Monaco, San Marino.

Oceania (13):
American Samoa, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea,Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Reference to the tripartite quota places in the ITU Olympic Qualification System:….pdf

Additional IF Eligibility Criteria:
To be eligible to participate in the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020, all athletes must meet one of the following requirements by 11 May 2020:
-      Being among the top 140 in the ITU Individual Olympic Qualification Ranking for qualification places of ITU Mixed Relay Olympic Qualification Ranking, ITU Mixed Relay Qualification Event, ITU Individual Olympic Qualification Ranking and Host Country;
-      Being among the top 180 in the ITU World Ranking for the qualification places of ITU World Ranking and Tripartite Commission Invitation.


Two (2) quota places per gender will be allocated according to the Tripartite Commission Invitation and they are made available to eligible NOCs at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

On 14 October 2019, the International Olympic Committee will invite all eligible NOCs to submit their requests for Tripartite Commission Invitation Places. The deadline for NOCs to submit their requests is 15 January 2020. The Tripartite Commission will confirm, in writing, the allocation of invitation places to the relevant NOCs after the end of the qualification period for the concerned sport.  If the Tripartite Commission is not able to allocate a Tripartite Commission Invitation Place, it will be reallocated to the next highest ranked NOC, according to the ITU Olympic Qualification Ranking, respecting the maximum number of athletes per NOC specified above.

Detailed information on Tripartite Invitation places is contained in the “Games of the XXXII Olympiad, Tokyo 2020- Olympic Games Tripartite Commission Invitation Places - Allocation Procedure and Regulations”

ITU Development has been working closely with potential eligible National Federations, their athletes and coaches to support small and developing nations through the tripartite invitation places on the way to Tokyo 2020. It is well embedded into the ASICS World Triathlon Team (former Team ITU) strategy and support with further mentoring programme assigned to both athletes and their coaches. In 2016 for the Rio Olympic Games Lawrence Fanous was awarded with this opportunity and became the first Olympian in triathlon representing Jordan at the Olympic Games since 2000.

For any further details please contact Zita Csovelyak ( at ITU Development.

Related Event: Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games
26 - 31 Jul, 2021 • event pageall results
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →